The Fourth

I did nothing remotely Independence Day-ee today. I didn’t go to the beach, have a cook out, watch fireworks, or kill aliens. But it was A-o-k by me.

My morning started with a long run in the park.

001

 

I was striving for 5+ miles, but I just wasn’t feeling it today. On my run, I decided that I’m going back to my old way of exercising: running when it’s cool out and exercising indoors when it’s just too bloody hot. No use killing myself when I’m not training for a real race, and I think I’ve got the 5k in September covered.

Mile 1: 10:23

Mile 2: 10:46

Mile 3: 11:02

Mile 4: 11:02

I started to feel not so great around mile 3. My stomach was cramping up, and I was too dizzy to stand still for fear of falling over. I ended up walking the rest of the way back after 4.2 miles just to straighten my head on again.

As soon as I walked in the door, I made myself some food.

002

 

A strawberry-blueberry smoothie with iced green tea, blueberries, strawberries, a little unsweetened vanilla almond milk and a couple ice cubes. We are completely out of yogurt, and I really missed the thick texture in my smoothie.

I balanced out my smoothie with some protein in the form of eggs.

004

 

First I sauteed some mushrooms in olive oil.

005

 

Then added egg whites, garlic powder, onion powder, crushed red pepper, and a pinch of salt.

006

 

All eggs must be topped with salsa or hot sauce. I went for the salsa today for some veg.

I still wasn’t feeling great after breakfast, at which point I decided to opt out of any fun-filled-fourth plans. Instead, I set to the wonderful task of cleaning my apartment in preparation for my party this weekend.

I found so many fun things while I was cleaning, including this issue of The Quibbler that my sisters Emily and Moriah wrote and illustrated for one of my former birthdays (I think 20 or 21?).

007

 

I will never be too old for Harry Potter. Dave actually bought me a t-shirt for my birthday this year that says “Make Love Not Horcruxes.” Love.

I also found my cat Athena’s adoption papers, which I saved for sentimental purposes, as well as a copy of the receipt from her “purchase.” It seems strange that I used a debit card to bring my fur baby home.

008

 

I completely forgot that when we adopted her, her name was Uma! She looks much more like an Athena to me.

I also found a few onesies left over from my sister Emily’s baby shower two Februarys ago. I had bought a bunch for a onesie-decorating contest and brought the unused ones home with me.

011

 

I decided to “surprise” Dave by leaving one on his computer desk so he would see it when he got home from work.

“What’s this?” he asked after I greeted him, and he finally made it over to his desk.

“Don’t you think that’s a great way to tell you I’m pregnant?” I answered.

“What?!” He walked over to me, eyes wide and arms outstretched until I said “Just kidding!” Boy,that would have put a damper on my wine and cheese party this weekend. 😉 Dave didn’t think it was as funny as I did. But I’m saving those onesies for the future! I’ll keep tricking Dave with them until I’m the girl who cries pregnant, and he won’t believe me anymore.

After the apartment was relatively clean, I started to decorate. My mom bought this candleabra for one of our murder mysteries, and it is such a fabulous piece to decorate with.

009

 

I even used it at my Harry Potter party a few years ago, which you’ll notice from the blog’s cover photo.

010

 

And here’s the cool print I picked up at Hobby Lobby this week. It’s perfect! Just looking at it makes me excited to go pick out cheese tomorrow. Anything except goat. Blech. I’m sorry, but I just can’t get on the goat cheese bandwagon.

I went to go look for a few things at Target after cleaning (I even cleaned out the fridge! That’s been a long time coming) and picked up a couple of their frozen pizzas for dinner. Dave and I have been really lazy about cooking during the week. It’s just not as much fun to cook in the summer unless you’re grilling out or having a party.

My two choices for tonight were Spinach Feta and Gyro. I left the Gyro to it’s own devices, but I added some tomato slices to the Spinach Feta, then topped it with capers and a little red wine vinegar when it came out of the oven.

013

 

Delicioso! Archer Farms really has fantastic pizzas. The crust is a bit thinner than I would normally like, but the flavor is excellent.

And with that, I’m headed off to bed, because I’m more than ready to get work over with tomorrow and have a plummy time this weekend. Hope you all had a great day!

Leave a Comment

