Free Monday

I needed a little sunshine in my life yesterday, and I knew just where to find it.

019

 

I was so glad I took Monday off, because it gave me the chance to drive out to my parent’s house to go visit my sister and Aurelia.

005

 

Two of my favorite faces!

When I got out to the house yesterday morning, Emily was in the process of making some homemade chai-flavored marshmallows.

PicMonkey Collage

 

They were amazing! I made homemade marshmallows once before for a Ghostbusters cake for Dave, and it was much easier than I thought. I was pretty proud of that cake.

2009_ (145)

 

If you’re feeling creative, Alton Brown’s recipe for homemade marshmallows works like a charm.

I needed to raid my mom’s basement for some party supplies for this weekend, so it was perfect timing. Em & I took a trip into Manitowoc to get some extra wine glasses from Goodwill (which I plan to immediately re-donate as they say “Happy Birthday” on them), a party dress, and some red fondant for my Gouda cake that Em is making for me. I can’t wait to see it!

I also found a perfect print in the clearance section at Hobby Lobby to display at the party.

Em made me a delicious salad for lunch yesterday as I was rummaging around in the basement.

021

Greens, shredded cheddar, mushrooms, onions, strawberries, radishes, and a Lightlife Chick’n Cutlet. This was the first time I tried one of those cutlets, and it was pretty tasty. I topped my salad with a scoche of Greek vinaigrette, and it was perfect.

020

Salads are my favorite lunch time meal in the summer.

PicMonkey Collage5

I was so happy to see my little moonbeam yesterday! She even gave me a kiss goodbye when I left.

After I got home and spent some time with my Davy, I spent a considerable amount of time working on my blog post regarding last weekend. It was fun to relive it through pictures even though it only happened a few days ago. My friend Shelby texted me just after I posted it and said “Now that I read your post, I want to go back.” I wish.

Dinner was a mish-mash of leftovers from the weekend.

003

I made a veggie sandwich with half a wheat hoagie roll, some hummus, arugula, tomato slices, and banana peppers. I served it with pickles, fresh berries, and some bbq pop chips.

004

And some leftover watermelon feta salad.

Since I told Dave I planned on celebrating my birthday all week, he brought me home a banana cupcake with chocolate frosting reminiscent of the birthday cake he usually makes for me.

005

I ate half and called it good.

I tried to watch some more of the new season of Arrested Development with Dave, but it was just….bad. I decided to go read in bed, which Dave told me later was a smart decision. I really wanted to like the new season, but I guess it’s not in the cards.

I’m really looking forward to dinner tonight at Taste of India with my family. We’re meeting at 5:30, so hopefully I can wait that long for dinner!

Leave a Comment

