Remembering My 25th Year

A lot of people use New Year’s Eve as a time to remember the previous year; to recognize their accomplishments and failures, their best times and worst times, and make new goals for the following year. I, too, like to do this on New Year’s Eve, but I also like to reminisce on my birthday, to remember what was special and not so special about the year before.

I spent my last birthday at my family’s cabin in Florence, WI. My family and I spent the weekend hiking, fishing, swimming, cooking, and drinking beer around the bonfire. It was glorious, and I was sad to go home.

My twenty-fifth year was one of the most gratifying and hardest years I have encountered thus far.

My first accomplishment was finishing my very first race: the Warrior Dash. My friends and I ran, crawled, jumped, swam, and jumped our way to the finish line, and I am proud to say that I finished within the top 25%. I prepared all summer for this race and, despite my initial hardships, I began to enjoy running.

10

That fall, Dave and I went through a very difficult time as a couple. We got married young and had to deal with all the things that come along with that: particularly, trying to change with the other person. Fortunately, we fought hard, and we celebrated our second anniversary stronger than ever.

To celebrate, we headed to Chicago for the weekend, had dinner at Gino’s, and went to the Shedd Aquarium. We had a wonderful time.

110

Dave is my best friend, and I will always fight for us.

I was a bridesmaid in October for the first time in the wedding of two of my very favorite people in the world. Dan and Emily are two of my soul mates, and I can’t imagine a life without them. It was a beautiful, wonderful, incredibly fun wedding made even more special by the fact that both the bride and groom were two of my best friends. I was so happy to be there on the best day of their life…so far.

I will work very hard to make sure these two are always a part of my life.

Christmas is always special, because it is one of the few times we get to celebrate with Dave’s awesome family. We counted down the days to see them, and they came and went too quickly. We made a feast fit for kings for the six of us, played board games and laughed…a lot.

In January, I took a new position at the hospital I work for. It is not my ideal career, but it resulted in more hours, more money, and more time with Dave. Plus, I have my own desk, which is nice. (Except when people steal my pens!)

In February, we celebrated my niece Aurelia’s first birthday with a Alice in Wonderland themed party. Aurelia is so special, and I really think she made my family even closer than we were before. I can’t wait to watch her grow.

It was a very long winter, and it seemed to last forever. Luckily, my friends helped me through it. I made the smartest decision I have made so far regarding my mental health and decided to go on antidepressants. The change I have noticed in myself is wonderful, and it has made all my relationships stronger. I still regret all the times I was short with my mom on the phone not because of the things she said, but the way I felt. I think she and Dave took the brunt of my depression, and I am so glad they still seem to love me as much as I love them!

image

In May, Dave took, and passed, his driving test for a CDL license. Once again, not his ideal career, but I am so proud of how hard he works for our small family. This was a great accomplishment for my love!

013

The summer has been filled with so many good memories already. I absolutely adore this season, and I wish it would camp out for awhile. My summers are always overflowing with fun trips, more time with friends, and relaxing.

What’s on the docket for my 26th year?

  • Another fun run (Run or Dye in September), and I’m also hoping to complete a longer race, like a 10k or 15k this year.
  • Third wedding anniversary with my love. Last year we went to Chicago, but this year, we want to do the opposite and go somewhere woodsy and secluded.
  • Plan fun things for our horribly long winters so they don’t seem so horrible.
  • Find a job I love.
  • Start looking for a house to move into.
  • Plan a trip to Ireland.

Lofty goals, but I’m enjoying the ride right now. Here’s to another great year!

2 thoughts on “Remembering My 25th Year

Leave a Comment

