Awesometown Bound

I have a lot of friends. If you read this blog at all or even just look at pictures, I’m sure you know that by now. There are certain things we do in small groups and sometimes the whole gang gets together for a rip-roaring party.

185

Three times, the whole group of us headed to Dan’s family’s cabin up north (lovingly dubbed Awesometown), and while we all had an amazing time, it certainly wasn’t the quiet, relaxing time you expect from being close to nature. Our group of friends keeps getting bigger and bigger, so it’s almost impossible for all of us to go on a trip away together anymore (although I have big hopes it will happen someday!).

134

Thus, I was incredibly excited when my friends Dan & Emily invited Dave and I up to Awesometown for a quiet weekend away with a couple other friends: Tess & Jake. These are my friends who live furthest away and whom I don’t get to see nearly as often as I would like, which makes the weekend even more special. Unfortunately, Dave won’t be coming, so I’m taking my friend Shelby as my date for the weekend.

026

I am much more of an outdoorsy person than my husband is, and one of my favorite places to be is up north. I can’t wait to take it all in: the campfire, the lake, the trees, the warm sunshine, and my beautiful friends. As with most group trips, we have split up the meals, which always makes food planning less stressful and cheaper.

097

Nearly all of my friends are fabulous cooks, so we always have this desire to cook something to impress the pants off each other, which usually results in less time hanging out and more dishes. That’s why we elected to go simple this year. I’m taking Saturday night dinner and making Roasted Veggie Sandwiches (inspired by Mark Bittman) and Watermelon Feta Salad. I can do a lot of the prep work before we even leave, which will leave more time for fun with the people I don’t see often enough!

040

I already have the watermelon chopped, the veggies sliced, and the seasoning premixed. (Recipes to come after this weekend!) I even invented a watermelon cocktail that I will surely be sharing with you. I’m hoping to get my three mile run in Saturday morning if it’s not too warm, and I’m sincerely hoping the rain holds off this weekend. Pretty please, weather gods?

After a bit more packing, I’m headed to pick up Shelby and head to Awesometown. I do have a birthday post scheduled for tomorrow in case you’re bored and want something to read. 🙂

Catch you all on the flip side!

Leave a Comment

