Proud to Be an American

120509_gay_pride_capitol_reuters

WASHINGTON (AP) – In a major victory for gay rights, the Supreme Court on Wednesday struck down a provision of a federal law denying federal benefits to married gay couples and cleared the way for the resumption of same-sex marriage in California.

It has been a very emotional day for me today, and I’m sure most of you know why. I am so proud of my country right now. And I don’t say that very often.

My Facebook post this morning pretty much sums it up: My sister-in-law Ali has been with her wife Jaimee for longer than I’ve been with my husband. They eat meals together, just like us. They have two fur babies, just like us. They work together to make their home nice, just like us. They love each other, just like us. The only difference is that it took four years for their marriage to become legal, even though it’s always been a “real” marriage to our family. This is a momentous day, and I am happiest most of all for my sisters.

10-01-10 (666)

Tears.  Happiness. Joy.

That’s all.

Leave a Comment

