Working Out with Jackie

Yesterday was a “rest day” from Run Keeper aka strength training day. Since I think I’m getting plenty of cardio with all of my runs (and because I’m a little burned out on all my Jillian Michaels and Bob Harper videos), I searched YouTube again for an upper body workout.

I settled on a 25 minute video with Jackie Warner, which I ended up loving. It employed pyramid sets, which means you perform two moves once each, then twice each, and so on all the way up to ten. This went on for six circuits and even though it was repetitive, I wasn’t bored. My arms were killing me by the end, though. I started with five pound weights and had to switch to four pound weights at the fourth circuit.

I found a way to correct Tuesdays’s run stats from Run Keeper! I had to delete the activity from my phone and input the correct times and distances online. Unfortunately, now my phone is telling me I “missed a workout” and has a really sad red face next to it, but at least I won’t have to try to beat my best time of a 1 minute and 29 second mile. I didn’t see that happening. Ever.

For the first time in a loooong time, I had meat two days in a row. I couldn’t help it; the pork chop with demi glace was just calling my name. On the side, I roasted some Brussels sprouts with garlic, olive oil, salt, and pepper, and topped them with a little lemon juice when I took them out of the oven.

image

Yum. I roasted Dave half a head of cabbage so I could take the rest of the Brussels sprouts for lunch the next day. I’m sneaky.

image

There were two pork chops left, but I saved the stuffed one for Dave and took the unstuffed one, which was still amazing. Dave cooked it perfectly, and that demi glace is awesome! I had a piece of toast on the side to clean up all the deliciousness.

image

I think I’m meated out now, but it was a great meal.

image

I finished my meal with some frozen grapes, my new favorite summer time after-dinner snack.

image

I had another bowl after this one. Delicious.

In other news, I sold my Ford Taurus! It did not go to the highest bidder, but I just didn’t want to deal with it anymore, plus I think the guy really needed it. His family was clearly worse off than Dave and I, which made me feel bad. Why can’t we all live in peace and have enough money not to worry? Just one of the many things that makes me frustrated.

On another note, I am now reading Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman, which I love so far. It takes place in the same world as American Gods, which is still my favorite book by Neil Gaiman, unless this one ends up trumping it. I love Neil Gaiman because his writing style reminds me of no one else, but in a good way. It’s strange but accessible and doesn’t weed out readers by choice.

What are you reading right now?

Leave a Comment

