Impress Yourself

The twenties have proven to be a great time for me in terms of settling into my own skin, as I’m sure is true with most people. It is so refreshing to finally become comfortable enough with myself that I don’t worry what people think of me all the time. Unless they’re cool people that I like and want them to like me back.

While I was running today, I was thinking about how I used to live to impress other people, and now I live to impress myself. I am so proud of how far I have come with regard to running, and every day that it gets a little easier and more pleasurable, the prouder I am of the fact that I stuck with it.

026

Today’s run was fueled by a new playlist, since I finally figured out how to sync my iPhone with iTunes.

1. Video Killed the Radio Star
2. It’s All Been Done
3. Rock n’ Roll Lifestyle
4. The Devil Went Down to Georgia
5. I Get Knocked Down
6. Free to Decide
7. Lookin’ Out My Back Door
8. Sin Wagon
9. Rebels of the Sacred Heart
10. Take Me Out
11. I Miss My Home
12. Don’t Stop Believin’
13. She’s Gonna Break Soon
14. Get Over It
15. Blitzkrieg Bop
16. Ballroom Blitz
17. Semi Charmed Kind of Life
18. Runnin’ Down a Dream

It was a nice change of pace to listen to music instead of my Sedaris audiobook. But I will come back to you, David!

Mile 1: 10:33

Mile 2: 10:31

Mile 3: 10:51

Mile 4: 10:46

Mile 5: 10:27

Total Miles: 5.03             Duration: 53:36            Pace per mile: 10:39

On my loop back, a deer ran out in front of me, then met up with another one, and for about a half a mile, the three of us were running within twenty feet of each other. A little while later, a chipmunk joined in on our run, and I started to feel like Snow White, enchanting all the creatures of the forest. Just call me “Runs with Deer.”

I tried to take a picture of the hilarious yet magical situation, but by the time my sweaty fingers had pulled my iPhone out of my armband, the deer had run back into the forest. So, I’ll supply you with a picture of a deer I took years ago. They pretty much looked like this one.

100_0258

Only more active.

Since my runs are getting longer and hotter, I decided it was finally time to get myself some sort of hydration system. I stopped by Dick’s Sporting Goods and found a few belts equipped with water bottles, but I went into sticker shock–$45!!! Instead, I ended up getting a handheld water bottle that I’m pleased with. It opens and closes automatically when you squeeze it, so I don’t have to fiddle around with a cap.

029

It also has a spot for Burt!028

And a pocket on the back for my keys, etc, which I’m certain will come in handy. My hand slips right through the opening on the side with a thumb-hole for maximum non-droppage.

030I can’t wait to try it out on my next run. And I think it’s funny that I become so excited about running accessories now.

It is getting to be that time of the year where, unless food is grilled, I rarely want to eat it hot. Cold sandwiches, salads, and snack plates are much more appetizing than pasta, soup, and casseroles. I started digging around in the cupboard for inspiration and found this bag of basil fettucine noodles we bought a couple months ago.

031

I cooked them in salted water for just three minutes, then immediately shocked them with cold water and tossed them in a little olive oil. Meanwhile, I cooked some shrimp in water and lemon juice and cut up a plethora of veggies: zucchini, tomatoes, and green peppers.

image

I tossed everything together with a little spinach, basil, lemon juice, freshly ground pepper, and a few tablespoons of Newman’s Own Lite Sundried Tomato Dressing. It was a delightfully cool and refreshing meal after I let the flavors marry in the fridge for several hours.

image

This morning, I started to read a book my friend Emily lent me: The Feast Nearby.

027 The book is the memoir of a food journalist who lost her husband and her job, moved to a cabin in Michigan with her poodle and parrot, bought chickens, and started eating all local foods on $40 a week. The book is peppered with non-fiction essays, tips, and tasty recipes like ‘Strawberries in Balsamic & Black Pepper’ Syrup, and I love it already.

I picked it up three times yesterday and ended up finishing it all in one day. Not long enough! It was a perfectly cozy and summery book to read, and it once again made me wish I lived in a cabin in the woods. Alas, I love Dave, and that is not his version of fun, so I have to content myself with summer jaunts to a cabin.

1 thought on “Impress Yourself

Leave a Comment