Getting My Strength Back

Last summer, I was great about incorporating strength training into my exercise routine.

002

 

This summer, I’ve been so focused on running that I’ve let my strength training slip to the wayside.

003

 

Those pictures almost look like two different people, don’t they? Nonetheless, I can tell that most of my strength is still there; I just need to chip away at the excess getting in the way.

My Run Keeper schedule has me running Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, and Sunday, so I have plenty of time to incorporate some strength training workouts on my “rest” days. Lately, I’ve been using them to run more, which is not really a smart idea, especially since I’m not a practiced runner.

Since yesterday was a rest day from running, I did thirty minutes of a chest, back, and arms workout I found on YouTube. I have some great Jillian Michaels and Bob Harper strength workouts, but I just wasn’t in the mood for them, and this did the trick.

After doing a few piles of laundry and working on a few future blog posts, I made myself dinner. Dave had another looooong day yesterday, and I knew I would eat my arm off if I waited for him to get home for dinner. I was bummed to find out all the salsa was gone (it’s a necessity in our household!), but I stuck with my plans to make a shrimp quesadilla, anyways.

image

 

I sliced a roma tomato, diced a white onion, and shredded some sharp cheddar cheese.

image

 

For extra veg, I sauteed two cups of spinach over medium high heat in a little nonstick olive oil cooking spray.

image

 

And I boiled shrimp in water and lemon juice for about three minutes.

image

 

I piled everything on a whole grain tortilla, as well as some avocado, then moved it to a pan over medium high heat and cooked it for about 3 minutes per side, just until the cheese was melty and the tortilla crisp and brown.

image

 

The quesadilla was a little messy but amazing.

image

 

I didn’t add any spices to it, figuring that the combination of different textures and flavors would be enough to keep my mouth happy, and it did!

image

 

I do think cooking shrimp with a little bit of lemon juice really brightens up their flavor, though. I topped my quesadilla with a dollop of Greek yogurt and the remaining tomatoes and cheese.

As soon as Dave got home and I said hello, I passed out on the couch and then headed to bed. Boring wife. At least we have a fun weekend planned again!

Leave a Comment

