Free Day

I love having days off in the middle of the week. Weekends are usually earmarked for fun things, and it’s so lovely to have a day to just be. I woke up at 6:45 yesterday morning (as opposed to my usual 3:30), which was wonderful. I’m usually indoors by the time the sun rises, so it was quite a treat to see it breaking over the horizon.

It was so deliciously cool and beautiful outside that I decided to do an easy two mile run.

Mile 1: 11:02

Mile 2: 10:21

Miles: 2.01         Duration 21:32       Pace per mile: 10:42

I got held up at the crosswalk for almost a minute, which resulted in a slow first mile. I couldn’t complain, because all those people were on their way to work, and I had the day off. Instead of listening to David Sedaris, I decided to just enjoy my run au naturel.

image

I walked for about half a mile after my run, then jogged the rest of the way home when I had to cross the street again. After I returned, I suddenly became nervous that someone was going to swoop in and buy the car Dave and I wanted, so I woke him up and we got ready in two shakes of a lamb’s tail.

After driving to the car place, then the loan place, then back to the car place, we made our first big purchase as a married couple: a braaaaand new car!

968923_710070770911_1106744273_n

 

Of course it isn’t really new, just “new to us.” Say hello to our 2004 Toyota Solara. Since Dave drives much further to work every day, he is taking the new car, and I am swapping my Taurus for his Mazda Tribute. We spent a chunk of the day yesterday cleaning both of them out, so I could transfer my things over to the Tribute. Even though I’m not getting a new car for my old one, it’s still a step up: I now have air conditioning, can listen to my Ipod, and I have four wheel drive, which makes me feel much safer in the winter. I am an old Grandma driver when it comes to snow.

After the car exchange was over, I drove into De Pere to pick up my sister and go see Star Trek: Into Darkness.

I loved it! Benedict Cumberbatch (aka Sherlock) was fabulous as the villain Khan. I have to admit, it was a little strange to see him cry and fight, when he rarely shows emotion or does anything physical in the BBC series Sherlock.

Even if you aren’t a Trekkie, I highly recommend the movie.

Leave a Comment

