A New First

Yesterday, I had a new “first:” the first time I have ever run five miles. It was a great first; cheaper than my first car, more difficult than my first job, and much more rewarding than my first real kiss. And the chafing—oh sweet mother of pearl, the chafing. That’s a first, too.

Mile 1: 10:27

Mile 2: 11:07

Mile 3: 11:46

Mile 4: 11:09

Mile 5: 10:58

Total Miles: 5.08          Duration: 56:18          Pace per mile: 11:05

Once again, I was supposed to maintain an 11:15-11:45 minute per mile pace, but I am now convinced that my body just isn’t capable of doing that. Perhaps I should try racewalking.

I can’t stop laughing.

I know, I know, it’s a “real sport,” and it’s mean of me to laugh, but seriously? Who came up with this?

When I read about my endeavors with running last year, I’m proud of how far I’ve come. Running, like coffee, is definitely an acquired taste. And I think I’m starting to like it. I never thought I’d say that.

Mondays are always hard on me, so by the time I was done with my run, I was bloody exhausted and had no idea what I wanted for dinner. I decided to make myself a snack plate, which was the perfect choice.

image

Cheddar, parmesan, and mozzarella cheese.

image

Carrots and celery.

image

Pickles and brined garlic.

image

Sardines with caper dill mustard (aka, my new favorite condiment).

image

And a big hunk of sourdough bread.

image

Snack plates make fabulous dinners.

I ended my meal with something sweet.

image

The more I eat, the more fortunes I get!

image

I started Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 while I ate my dinner and went to bed just after Dobby was laid to rest. I’m such a sucker when it comes to Harry Potter; I cry every time one of my characters die. They are so much more real to me than chick flicks ever will be, and perhaps that’s because I grew up with Harry.

Definition of a well-rounded person: one who runs for fun, eats sardines for dinner, and cries at Harry Potter. That’s me.

2 thoughts on “A New First

Leave a Comment

