House Warming

My friends John and Casey had the gang over for a house warming party last night. Really it was an apartment warning, since only two in our group actually have a house, but that’s just a technicality.

Unsure if there would be snacks, I hopped on the hummus bandwagon, per usual, and Dave made some delicious stuffed bread.

image

This hummus was made with roasted red peppers and garlic, smoked paprika, cumin, and a dash of lemon juice. I served it with celery, carrots, and multigrain pita chips. When I set in amongst the chips and salsa, sausage and cheese in their kitchen someone said “Oh, heallthy stuff!” I took home an empty plate, so I’m calling it a win. Hummus is definitely a crowd-pleaser.

image

Dave’s bread really stole the show, though. He sauteed oyster and bella mushrooms in truffle oil until they released their moisture, and they smelled amazing. We grated mozzarrella and parmesan, and he also used a smear of ricotta cheese before rolling the bread up.

image

 

Have you ever seen anything so beautiful? Unfortunately, I only got a tiny piece before I got distracted and then the bread was all gone. Though the ricotta cheese ended up being a little bit too much moisture for the bread, the truffled mushrooms were a fabulous addition. We’re definitely getting our money’s worth out of that bottle.

John’s parents and grandparents attended as well, which made for a great photo opportunity.

image

 

Such a photogenic crew!

We spent the night eating, drinking, laughing, dancing, and being a little ridiculous. It was wonderful.

imageimage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love my friends.

imageimage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A dance party ensued later in the evening, but I only caught John starting it on camera. After that, I had to dance, you see.

image

 

 

image

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

image

image

It was a good party. Thanks for being such excellent hosts, John and Casey!

 

Leave a Comment

