Sunday Funday

When I don’t feel like driving to the long, wooded trail for a run, I catch the short side nearer my apartment, which involves crossing the street and running on the sidewalk for about 3/4 of a mile.

Since this trail is a relatively open space with fewer trees and more mowed grass, it is a popular crossing zone for geese. A few weeks ago, my mom told me she saw a man running on the trail who happened upon a few geese and some goslings. The mama goose, infuriated that he was encroaching on her territory, attacked him and started ferociously pecking him until he fell on top of the goslings. I can only imagine what happened next.

Needless to say, when I came across a large group of goslings and a grim-eyed mama goose yesterday morning on my run, I promptly turned around and ran back the other way.

002

It was supposed to be a four mile run, paced between 11:15 and 11:45. But it was a deliciously cool day and despite the rockin’ time I had at Irish Fest the night prior (aka lots o’ beer….), I was feeling great and didn’t even realize I was traveling faster than I was supposed to. I figure my faster pace made up for the goose detour I took that shorted me .7 miles.

Mile 1: 10:16
Mile 2: 11:20
Mile 3: 11:21
Total miles: 3.3
Duration: 36:31
Pace per mile: 11:03

When I returned, Dave and our guests Saoirse and Don were up. We contemplated going out for breakfast but eventually decided it would be more fun to go to the grocery store and cook ourselves. We decided on a simple breakfast of egg sandwiches, crunchy bananas, and Bloody Marys.

image

Dave has recently perfected the perfect Bloody Mary recipe and, complete with a cheese curd, cocktail onion, pickle, and dilled brussels sprout, it was a meal in itself.

We each took over various aspects of the meal: Saoirse mixed up the Bloody Mary’s, Don made candied bacon using brown sugar and red pepper flakes.

image

Meanwhile, I toasted some bacon rosemary bread in the cast iron pan and sauteed some spinach, and Dave cooked the eggs and crunchy bananas. Our neighbors Shelby and Cory came over to help (and supervise).

image

Dave had the idea to grind up some wasabi peas to top the eggs with, which took the eggs to a new level.

image

But, as usual, the crunchy bananas stole the show. Add fire to anything and it becomes exciting.

image

All you need: bananas, sugar, and a torch.

image

Creme brulee in fruit form!

Saoirse loved my viking hat from Warrior Dash and wore it around most of the morning. She has gorgeous black curly hair, and Dave said “It’s hard to tell where the hat leaves off and Saoirse begins!”

image

Breakfast was served at about 2:00pm. 😀

image

Everything was so good, and I’m sure butter and bacon played huge parts in that. After we said goodbye to Saoirse and Don, we continued the afternoon with a viewing of Serenity. Dave and I lent Shelby and Cory the Firefly series and they fell in love with it, as we knew they would.

If you’re a Firefly fan, you are probably used to watching Serenity and then immediately dismissing everything you just saw. We cleared it from our heads with the gag reel and called it a night waaaay past our bedtime.

Oh, Mondays.

Leave a Comment

