Kindred Spirits

“Kindred spirits are not so scarce as I used to think. It’s splendid to find out there are so many of them in the world.” ~Anne Shirley, Anne of Green Gables

100_3449

Yesterday morning, when I woke up at 1:30am (just three and a half hours after falling asleep!) and was unable to go back to bed, I reflected on the past weekend and how many kindred spirits I have found in my life since discovering one in Anne Shirley.

2009_ (295)

I think my first kindred spirits were fictional characters; the only ones I felt truly understood me and to whom I could bare my soul. But the older I get, the more fascinating I find that it is possible to meet and make amazing friends, besides my siblings, who have also become kindred spirits.  I think it has a lot to do with how I feel in my own skin. The older I get, the more comfortable I am being the person I am with no apologies, and it makes it so much easier to appreciate other people the same way.

2009_ (265)

In the past eight years, my group of “close friends” has grown from five to about fifteen. Fifteen. I never imagined that it was possible to have fifteen close friends. Sure, acquaintances and good friends can come in multitudes, but I feel incredibly lucky to have so many truly awesome people in my life: people who make me laugh, teach me, listen and truly care what I have to say.

021

 

People with whom I can do absolutely nothing and still have fun. People who are so comfortable, I often feel as though they’re an extension of myself.
2010_ (160)

Lately, it has amazed me how many good friends I keep meeting. I thought there was a limit to kindred spirits, but I guess I was wrong. What a fabulous problem to have.

2010_ (237)

 

Now, the average person has two or three close friends. Which is awesome. Having even one close friend can be difficult sometimes. But I have coffee friends, bar friends, do-absolutely-nothing friends. Dinner friends, movie friends, have-you-read-this-book friends.

033I have music friends, dancing friends, will-you-listen-to-me-cry friends. I have advice friends, nerdy friends, quote-this-at-the-same-time-as-me friends.

111Sometimes, I get angry at them or annoyed. Sometimes we fight or don’t talk for a bit. Sometimes I need to take a break from the chaos of having fifteen close friends. But it never lasts long. I would do anything for these people.

183

Because I am so lucky to love and be loved. I am theirs and they are mine.

Leave a Comment

