Against the Wind

I fancied a run after work today, but even though the sun shone through the cold, it was terribly windy, and I’ve learned my lesson about running against the wind. I couldn’t help but think of this video I emailed my mom a year ago.

I watched it when I got home and had the same reaction as last time: I laughed and then immediately felt guilty about it and said “awww….”

Click image to watch!

I want a pet duck! ………..Dave? 🙂

Instead of being blown over, I stayed inside my windproof apartment and had Jillian Michaels torture me for an hour with Banish Fat Boost Metabolism.

I probably would have had an easier workout being blown around outside, but this got the job done. It’s been ages since I’ve done this video, and I remember why: it’s heavy cardio with very few breaks or strength training. Circuit two is a killer. At least I have a nice spurt of endorphins afterwards. But I’m hoping for some nice warm weather tomorrow so I can hit the trail!

I made it about an hour after my shower before my stomach started grumbling. My eating schedule is pretty weird these days. I usually eat brunch at eleven and dinner at four during the week, and then it’s all over the place on the weekends. It seems like a really early dinner, but since I go to bed at 7:30, I guess it’s okay. And it makes more sense to listen to my hunger cues than starve myself and overeat later.

Since I had two cups of leftover brown rice from yesterday, I mixed it up with some canned diced tomatoes and sliced mushrooms, then added traditional taco seasoning spices: cumin, oregano, garlic powder, minced onion, chili powder, and red pepper flakes.

001

 

Fast & easy burritos salad!

002

 

I topped a whole wheat tortilla with a heap of spinach, the rice mixture, some shredded cheddar, salsa, and Greek yogurt.

003

 

Salsa and Greek yogurt are two of my absolute favorite condiments. Mmm….mmm…good.

004

 

After I took all these pretty pictures, I remembered we had some olives in the fridge and threw those on, too. Then I ate the toppings like a salad until I had a small enough amount to roll up and eat a burrito. This is my favorite way to eat a burrito at home, because I can have more of the tasty, healthy fillings and less of the wraps.

I am so excited that it’s Friday tomorrow. Woohoo, three day weekend!

One thought on “Against the Wind

  1. Oh my goodness. That duck video is definitely “awww” worthy. Although I have to admit I giggled a bit. That burrito salad looks tasty and I totally do the same thing with regard to eating the toppings like a salad until it’s small enough to roll up. 🙂 Hope you have a great long weekend!

Leave a Comment

