By the Wayside

With the impending Memorial Day (and three day week!), I was struggling to remember what I did last year on this particular holiday. Slow Poke Mcgee that I am, it took a while to figure out I could just check my blog. I love that! My dad always told us to write dates and places on the back of photographs so we would remember where we were; now I have a blog that tells me the happenstance of almost all of my photos for the last year.

So now I know that last Memorial Day, I dressed up as a Renaissance lady and marched in a parade.

After the parade, I went to a friend’s house to hang out by the pool and grill out with family and friends.

The downside of having access to my past is that I have to read all the silly things I wrote a year ago when I started this blog. Oh, well. That’s what we call personal growth, people.

And since it’s not Memorial Day yet…on to today!

For the time being, I’ve decided to leave Sushi Wednesday by the wayside. 😦 We had a good thing going, but with summer finally here, I have a boatload of things to save money for. I’m a little sad…but it will be more fun to spend my money on weekend trips, dinner with friends, and Alaska! Besides, dinner with friends might include sushi. And sushi with friends is more fun than sushi alone.

Image Source: http://www.alaska.com

After I got home from work, I contemplated a run in the rain, but I decided my time would be better put to use with an hour of No More Trouble Zones. I think the kitties get sad when I come home and then leave them again. And they love to help me exercise.

It is amazing how my interpretation of a workout can change from one day to the next. One day a run is lovely and the next, I want to rip my legs off. One day, I’m rocking at bicycle crunches, and the next, I want to rip my legs off. So, yeah. The bicycle crunches hurt today. I did them anyway. Oh, Jillian Michaels. How I love to hate you.

In an attempt to use up my leftover pan-fried tofu from yesterday, and because I still wanted my addictive peanut sauce, I made a ginormous stir fry for dinner.

001

 

I used:

  • 1 bunch of broccoli
  • 1 red pepper
  • 5 large mushrooms
  • a scant amount of leftover onions from the fridge (because I couldn’t find a whole one!) 😦
  • 1 can of water chestnuts

I cooked the veggies in a wok over medium high heat in a little bit of sesame oil.

002

 

I don’t use this wok often, but it rocks.

004

 

When the veggies were crisp-tender, I added the already cooked tofu to heat it up. While I was stir frying away, I mixed up my peanut sauce.

  • 4 tbsp powdered peanut butter
  • 4 tbsp water
  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes

005

 

I served the stir fry over a little brown rice and topped it with a few roasted onion and garlic peanuts.

007

 

I love, love, love this peanut sauce so much. Have I annoyed you all yet with how much I love it? It is perfect for stir fry and the best spring roll dipping sauce. I want to take a bath in it. Come over and I’ll make some for you.

In short, dinner was wonderful. And I finally caught up with How I Met Your Mother and got to see ‘The Mother.’ Only took eight years.

Have you been watching HIMYM? 

I started watching HIMYM in college with my friend Bobby, but I only recently caught up with the entire series. Dave watched it with me for awhile, but he has given up on the show and doesn’t care who the mother is anymore. I can’t say I blame him. But I still think it’s a pretty funny show.

Leave a Comment

