Mother’s Day Festivities

I tried to sleep in this morning, so naturally I woke up at 6:00am. Instead of tossing and turning, I decided the best way to start Mother’s Day was with an episode of Gilmore Girls—I’m sure my mom would agree (I got her hooked). After a quick stop at the grocery store, I picked up my brother and his girlfriend and headed out to my parent’s house.

My mom invited her mom and siblings over for a Mother’s Day brunch, so the Leahy kids got together to start cooking with my mom.

056

 

Hashbrowns.

057

 

Yogurt parfaits with vanilla Greek yogurt, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and granola.

063

 

French toast.

064

 

And a frittata with smoked salmon, feta, onions, mushrooms, spinach and dill.

We waited until a perfectly respectable time until we caved and had mimosas.

059

 

Mimosas for everyone!

065Except the baby.

060Then I cooked up a mess of bacon, sausages, and veggie sausages. Unfortunately, we got a call from in town while we were in the mayhem of cooking: Grandma wasn’t feeling well and didn’t think she could make the trip out.

Mom didn’t stress, just said “We’ll finish cooking, pack up the food, and take it into town!” Cool as a cucumber.

We got to Grandma’s around 1:00pm and heated up the food before sitting down to a lovely brunch.

067

 

Everything was incredibly delicious. I tried a little bit of everything except the “real” sausage.

070

 

And even though I only like egg-white frittatas, this one was pretty darn good. Smoked salmon, feta, and dill were a great combo.

My sister was the house favorite with her “I <heart> Mum” t-shirt.

072

 

We hung out for awhile before I headed home to Davy and the kitties. And look what I found!

073

 

Athena and Artemis remembered it was Mother’s Day and got me a lovely card, some goldfish crackers, Burt’s Bees, dark chocolate with sea salt, and toasted onion peanuts. I’m a proud mama to my kitty babies, and hopefully I’ll be a proud mama to some human babies someday.

But until then, I’ll leave Mother’s Day in good hands.

066

Leave a Comment

