Adventures with Broccoflower

The weather has been so erratic lately, and I’ve been driving so much this week, that I decided to stay home last night and do kickboxing instead of driving to the trail for a run. I didn’t want to get caught in a downpour!

Using Jillian’s Kickbox Fastfix, I completed the last 20 minute workout (focusing on abs), followed by the first workout (focusing on upper body). My upper and lower body must be stronger than my core because that last workout was the hardest yet. I almost stopped after it, but I kept telling myself “one more circuit, one more circuit” until I finished the first one as well.

I was excited to find this “broccoflower” in the grocery store the other day, firstly because I love twords, secondly because it was the same price as cauliflower, and thirdly because I thought my cauliflower-hating, broccoli-loving husband might like it.

002

As you may have guessed, broccoflower is a hybrid between broccoli and cauiflower and retains most of the caulifowers appearance with a lime green color. I think I let it sit in the fridge a smidge too long, because it was starting to get a few brown spots. I just threw those parts away when I was chopping to make vegetables the best way ever: roasted with garlic, olive oil, salt, and pepper, then topped with a little lemon juice and parmesan cheese when it comes out of the oven.

003

I added another head of broccoli to the mix, because I just can’t get enough of roasted veggies with garlic.

007

I served my broccoli with a veggie burger with sharp cheddar on a flat-out (love those!) and pickles. I was expecting the broccoflower to taste like a perfect combination of its parents, but it tastes almost exactly like cauliflower. Good for me, bad for Dave: I don’t think he ate any of it. I thought it was delicious, though!

Have you tried broccoflower? If you have, what did you think of it?

Leave a Comment

