Booking It

I love, love, love hot, sunny weather………but I don’t love, love, love exercising in it. I really enjoy spending time outdoors when it’s nice, but hard exercising in 80 degree weather is just a tad out of my comfort zone. Most of the other people I see running in that kind of weather are just barely wearing clothes, and I’m not quite ready for that. So I opened the shades yesterday and let the sun in while I did some more kickboxing.

I really enjoy Jeanette Jenkins’ Kickboxing, but I like Jillian Michaels Kickbox Fastfix quite a bit as well. It’s split up into three 20-minute workouts, so I can adjust how many I do to how I feel. I have yet to make it to the third one, but I finished the first two yesterday. The group in the video is a little overenthusiastic (they yell “Yeah!” way too much), but it’s definitely a great workout.

Post workout, I indulged in a delicious green smoothie.

002

I don’t generally have a post-workout snack unless I’ve exercised an hour or more, but my stomach was grumbling while kickboxing, so it was a necessity. This one had:

  • frozen banana chunks
  • mango nectar
  • plain non-fat Greek yogurt
  • unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • stevia
  • spinach
  • ice

001

Smoothies are the best summer breakfast and post-workout snack.

After a shower, I had to book it to get some errands done: buy sushi, go to the post office, and head to my grandma’s to buy plane and train tickets to Alaska. My life is so hard, right?

My sister has been having some health problems lately, and I wanted to get something to cheer her up while she was in the hospital. When I saw this tote bag online, I couldn’t resist. My sister Moriah has a about a dozen nicknames, but one of the funniest is mo’ money, mo’ problems. Since she and I are both huge Harry Potter fans, I couldn’t resist.

003

I spent way more than I should have on it, but the look on her face when she got it definitely made it worth it. She wants to use it as one of her purses now. 🙂

In other news, my mom has agreed to come to Alaska with my Aunt Dina and me, and I’m so pumped. The three of us are going to have a great time traveling together. I have never flown before, so it was a bit of a mystery trying to figure out plane and train times to get the best deal. Hopefully I figured everything out correctly, because I checked my work at least fifteen times.

When I finally got home, I was famished and dove right into the sushi.

010

Mmm….this was a great combo.

006

Crunchy Crab Roll.

005

Spicy Tokyo Fantasy brown rice roll with salmon, tuna, and shrimp.

008

And the vehicles for my peanut sauce…veggie spring rolls.

011

I ate my dinner while watching an episode of Gilmore Girls, then read a chapter of A Clash of Kings (the second book in the Game of Thrones series) before zonking out.

Leave a Comment

