Cinco de Mayo

After a fun night hanging out with friends on Friday, I woke up Saturday and started my day off with some kickboxing. I am seriously loving it so far. I could have run outside given the nice weather, but I woke up wanting to do kickboxing, so I went with it.

My aunt Dina and I have been planning to go to a movie together for, oh, about the last  year or so. Yesterday, we both finally had free time to do so. I don’t really keep up with movies anymore (except those on my geek radar, like the new Star Trek movie), so none of the movies really stood out. On a whim, I picked 42, a movie about Jackie Robinson.

004We also took my grandma along to the theatre with us. It’s the first time she’s been to a movie in probably a decade, and she kept reminding me that when she was young, movies were only 25 cents.

003

 

Poor grandma had to pay $6.50 yesterday for the senior matinee, a $6.25 cent hike. 🙂

The movie was fantastic! I wasn’t sure what to expect going into it, especially since I don’t really follow baseball, but it was such an inspiring movie. Harrison Ford had a great role as Branch Rickey, the Major League Baseball executive who signed on Jackie Robinson. It was really well-written with plenty of both comedic and heartbreaking moments–I looked over several times to find my aunt crying. (She is famous for crying at movies). I highly recommend it, even if you’re not a baseball fan.

After the movie, I got to work preparing an appetizer and drink for my work Cinco de Mayo party. Yesterday’s Mexican-inspired goodies were definitely a win! I think the margaritas I made were actually better this year than last year.

Cherry-Jalapeno Margaritas 

  • 3 cups jalapeno-infused tequila
  • 3 cups tart cherry juice
  • 1 cup fresh or bottled lime juice
  • 1 1/2 cups triple sec

Seed and slice two jalapenos. Add tequila and jalapenos to a covered container and store in a cool, dark place for at least two days. Remove jalapenos from tequila and mix tequila with remaining ingredients. Serve over ice.

*****

The guacamole also went over really well. I made my lower calorie one with the addition of peas, which really stretches out the amount without compromising the flavor. It’s a cut in both calories and price since avocados can get a little expensive. And it’s delicious!

007

Lower-Cal Guacamole

  • 1 15 oz can sweet peas, drained
  • 3 avocados, halved, seeded, and peeled
  • 1/2 lime, juiced (or 1 1/2 tbsp bottled lime juice)
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 red onion, minced
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro

In a large bowl, mash green peas thoroughly with a potato masher. Add avocados, lime juice, and spices and continue to mash. Fold in tomatoes, garlic, onions, and cilantro.

*****

Our friends Shelby and Cory picked us up to head over to the party. I was lucky enough to see my co-worker Ashley’s six week old baby, Madaline.

020

 

I have definitely become more of a baby person since Aurelia was born. Madaline was the tiniest baby I’d ever held and just plain adorable.

After putting the baby to bed, we had plenty of fun with margaritas of all kinds, jello shots, beer and Mexican noshes. I felt kind of bad for our significant others, because we spent a good chunk of the time talking about work. What can I say, we have plenty of interesting stories to share, especially from the ER.

021

 

Such a fun night!

Leave a Comment

