If You Can’t Stand the Heat

I’m going to start off this post by giving you some friendly advice: wear gloves when you chop jalapenos. If you decide you’re a warrior, (because your husband insists on calling you that) and your hands are somehow thick enough to withstand the burning poison that no one before you has ever withstood, for the love of the gods, do not touch your hands to your eyes! This will only prove that you are human.

In preparation for my work’s second annual Cinco de Mayo party (not sponsored by our workplace, just a gathering of work people that get along), I decided to recreate my cherry-jalapeno margaritas from last year. I was very careful about not touching my eyes, and I washed my hands nothing short of a million times. But three hours later, having trouble sleeping, I casually rubbed my eyes, then ran into the bathroom with the thought of dumping a gallon of milk directly into my eye sockets. So…yeah. Next time I buy jalapenos, I’m also buying food-safe gloves. Soap is apparently no match for capsaicin.

035

These better be good.

I think my experience with the jalapenos forced me to go a little easier on the spicy crab salad I made last night for dinner. My friend pinned a list of thirty delicious sandwiches, and one of them sounded particularly amazing: crab salad with a thai pepper, garlic, scallion, and salt with napa cabbage and fresh lime juice.

I veered off in my own direction, attempting to make it more “tuna-salad” like with a few spoonfuls of Greek yogurt, red pepper flakes, a large dose of Cholula Chili Garlic sauce, and some freshly ground pepper. However, I wussed out on using a jalapeno and used a poblano pepper instead, so the end result was not very spicy at all, despite the Cholula (I used about 1/4 of the bottle…).

001

It definitely has potential, though! The flavor was really good, but the texture was a little soupy.

On the side, I had roasted broccoli and brussels sprouts with garlic, olive oil, salt, pepper, lemon juice, and shredded asiago.

002

This is probably my favorite way to eat roasted vegetables. I could have easily eaten the entire pan of vegetables by myself, but I used every ounce of willpower I had to leave some for Dave.

003

On a scale of 1 to 10, how spicy do you like your food?

I think I’m probably a seven. I like my food spicy, but not so spicy that it overwhelms the flavor of the dish.

2 thoughts on “If You Can’t Stand the Heat

  1. I enjoy spicy food if the heat doesn’t destroy the flavour. My husband loves the heat so when I have a cold I have him make his fire hot stir fry. I may cry but that cold goes away. 🙂 Though I’m with you and being surprised at how long the pepper oil can linger on your fingers.

Leave a Comment

