Salad Nicoise

002I couldn’t write a thing before showing you how beautiful my dinner was last night. You guys usually don’t see curry because, let’s face it, it looks like the pile of stuff Dr. Sattler picks through in Jurassic Park…you know what I’m talking about. But Salad Nicoise? As beautiful as it is delicious.

It was raining when I left work yesterday afternoon as it’s supposed to every day this week. Boo. Hiss. I think even the weather forecasters are a little peeved. So much for running. The sun peeked through a few times and it was still warm, so feeling my spring restlessness, I decided to do an hour-long workout: No More Trouble Zones.

Still one of my favorite videos. And it’s been so long since I’ve done it that it was very refreshing. And the feeling I had afterward? Pure gold. Things I wish I could bottle: summer days, the scent of old books, and the burst of endorphins after working out.

Dave had a wonderful suggestion for dinner last night using the leftover potatoes and green beans from grilling out: Salad Nicoise. There are many variations on the salad, but the best I’ve ever had was made by Dave’s dad. When we were living in Illinois with Dave’s parents several years ago, Barry made Salad Nicoise for my family for lunch when they came to visit, and my dad still talks about it to this day as the most perfect meal ever.

005

Variations of Salad Nicoise include: tuna or salmon, anchovies, green beans, tomatoes, hard boiled eggs, olives, red peppers, shallots, artichoke hearts, and potatoes, usually served with a vinaigrette.

004

Dave cooked the salmon in a pan on the stove, and it turned out beautifully. He also sauteed some red onions (since we never ever have shallots in at home, and I haven’t figured out why). Unfortunately, we had no eggs in the house after our semi-drunken feast two evenings (well, morning,) prior, so we weren’t able to hard boil any. It would have been nice to have, but I honestly didn’t miss them with all the other fun flavors.

006

Dave asked me to mix up my lemon caper dill sauce in lieu of vinaigrette, which was a fantastic suggestion.

001

I never measure anything out for the sauce: I just mix together plain nonfat Greek yogurt, capers, dill weed, some freshly ground pepper, garlic powder, and a pinch of salt. It’s best to let it sit for awhile, because the flavors get even better as they marry. So good with salmon.

007

I added a few green olives and a pickle to my plate for even more flavor, and holy cricket, this salad was delicious. (I told Dave I want to start using ‘holy cricket’ in conversations after watching Harry Potter again). I could eat it once a week and not get tired of it. I think this salad is going to start making regular appearances in my life.

What are you favorite salad toppings?

P.S. Apparently people have been having trouble commenting on the blog, so hopefully I have fixed that problem! I am still playing around with the features on here, so forgive me.

4 thoughts on “Salad Nicoise

Leave a Comment

