Sushi Wednesday

You know what sucks?

Image source: saturdayeveningpost.com

Doing dishes.

We never had a dishwasher growing up, so my first experience with one was while working at Nicolet Restaurant with a commercial dishwasher that had the dishes clean in three minutes flat. When Dave and I moved into our first apartment together, I insisted the dishwasher was broken–“It’s been on for almost a half hour! I think something is wrong!” Dave laughed at me.

I actually don’t mind doing dishes by hand once in awhile and, when I’m baking, I do dishes as I go so it’s a piece of cake. But it is quite irritating that no matter if you’re cooking for two or twelve, you use the same amount of pots and pans. And who has the energy after cooking to wash dishes? Pfft.

Thursday night’s dinner was a two-pot meal: one for the pasta, one for the chicken and sauce. Then the colander. And the tongs. And the spoon. And the spoon rest (ramekin). The plate for the chicken to rest. The dinner, plates, the glasses, the utensils. Sometimes it just seems like too many dishes for only two people!

009

Now, Wednesday’s have become one-person days. Dave took a new position at his job which includes an overnight route in the middle of the week. That means I see him Tuesday night when we go to bed, and then I don’t see him again until Thursday afternoon. I thought I would hate it at first, but it actually makes the week go by much faster, and then Dave and I have the weekend to do fun things together.

So what have I been cooking for myself on Wednesdays? Nothing.

010

Wednesday is “Sushi Wednesday” at our local grocery store, so it’s become “Sushi Wednesday” for me! The specially marked packaged sushi rolls are only $5, so I’ve taken to buying three rolls and then having half for dinner Wednesday nights and half for lunch the next day.

005

I usually buy one specialty roll, one roll with brown rice, and one spring roll. Last night I had a Black Dragon Sea Roll (with eel), a brown rice Spicy Inari Roll (with crab), and a veggie spring roll.

009Then I whip up a quick peanut sauce for dipping the spring roll into–it is my favorite dipping sauce and stir fry sauce. It is so friggin’ delicious, I cannot get enough of it.

  • 2 tbsp powdered peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • pinch of ginger
  • pinch of garlic powder
  • dash of red pepper flakes

* This makes just enough for my dipping sauce, but I usually triple it for stir fries.

Dave loves sushi, so I feel kind of guilty enjoying it without him. Perhaps I should take to making things he doesn’t like but I do on Wednesdays, but those are few and far between: the only things I can think of are mac n’ cheese and cauliflower. I’ll have to ask him for suggestions.

008

In the meantime, Wednesdays will be “Sushi Wednesday” for me, and it will give me something to look forward to on a day that might otherwise be lonely.

006

The best part? No dishes.

Leave a Comment

