Two Nights, Two Dinners

We had one sheet of leftover puff pastry after last week’s Salmon en Croute which made for a really random dinner Tuesday night. We picked up a wheel of brie at the grocery store last weekend, and I was trying to find out a way to round out what would have been just a meal of brie en croute (I’ve done it before…).

I rolled the puff pastry out and used only 2/3 of it for the brie en croute.

003

 

This one was accented with whole grain mustard and some leftover ribs from a few nights before. It was really delicious, but not my favorite; I still love jam and nuts with my brie. Although the one we made with smoked salmon previously was friggin’ awesome.

Since I had a 1/3 of puff pastry left, I brushed it with olive oil and added some chopped grape tomatoes, sliced mushrooms, feta cheese, and basil to make a pizza-thing.

001

 

Our conversation as I pulled it out of the oven:
Dave: What is that?
Chel: It’s like a pizza-thing.
Dave: You made a PIZZA THING?!

It’s a good thing people don’t see us in our natural habitat. We’re very weird. 😀

I also made a heap ton of roasted veggies, because I could eat them every day for every meal and not get sick of them.

004

 

It was a very colorful, somewhat fancy, and kind of a weird dinner, but it worked.

005

 

Plus, look at all that natural light! It makes me happy that the sun is thinking about sticking around for awhile. Although it does make it infinitely harder to go to bed at 7:30pm when the sun is glaring through the curtains into the bedroom.

Dave and I were talking about pasta last weekend for some reason. We don’t eat a lot of it, because I tend to be in the mood for it more than Dave; he’s still scarred by the fact that we had it twice a week when we first moved in together. Our meal rotation was pretty much big sandwich, pasta, frozen pizza, ramen and/or something we actually cooked. It seems weird now that we didn’t cook much then, but I attribute it to going to school full time and working part time–maybe we just ran out of time? Even still, when we made pasta, we always made our own sauce.

We had a lb of thawed chicken tenders in the refrigerator, so I found a way to incorporate them into a delicious dinner by using a recipe from The Pioneer Woman.

007

 

First you cook the chicken in a dutch oven over medium-high heat for about two minutes per side.

Then deglaze the pan with some wine, then add tomatoes, tomato paste, and salt and pepper to taste.

009

 

After it has come to a boil, remove it from the heat and add plenty of whole garlic cloves and fresh herbs.

012

 

Add the chicken to the sauce, lid it up, and pop it in a 400 degree oven for an hour and enjoy the wonderful smells. In case you missed the recipe, here it is. I altered it slightly by using only one 28 oz can of diced tomatoes, then adding a cup of whole grape tomatoes and a cup of vegetable broth instead of the second 14 oz can of whole tomatoes.

015

 

I have never had baked tomato sauce before, but it was scrumptious. The time it spent in the oven brought out the sweetness of the tomatoes and made the flavor so much rounder. I served it on top of whole grain spaghetti with some shredded Parmesan on top.

016

 

Pasta, I missed you.

Leave a Comment

