Criminal Weather

I am still wearing my winter coat, scarf, and gloves. Last week, I heard a piano player banging out “Let it Snow.” Yesterday, I drove past a snowman in someone’s yard. A snowman!

Frosty has definitely overstayed his welcome. There’s a time and place for snow, hot cocoa, carols and snowmen, and it is not April. Needless to say, the weather is really starting to bring me down, as well as my fellow Wisconsinites (and Midwesterners in general, I’m sure). I can hardly even taste spring.

I’m still holing myself up inside after work, watching episodes of Bones and reading Game of Thrones, which I’m happy to report is just as good as the miniseries. I’ve been writing a little poetry lately, too, which is definitely good for my brain. However, I keep thinking about writing poems about how much I hate winter, so I’m trying to steer clear of that…

Yesterday, Dave and I decided to escape the apartment and go out to dinner at my favorite Mexican restaurant in Green Bay: El Sarape.

001

It’s the most authentic Mexican restaurant we’ve discovered and nothing I’ve eaten has disappointed me yet.

004

One downside: the menu is huge, so it’s always hard to decide what to order!

006

But there definitely are necessities. As soon as we sat down, we got the customary homemade tortilla chips and salsa. I ordered an original margarita and Dave followed suit.

008

They only serve margaritas the traditional way: on the rocks, and they are perfectly paired with a salt-rimmed edge.

We invited my brother and his girlfriend Nicole to join us as well.

017

Right away, we put in an order for guacamole to share.

011

Love, love, love guacamole. I ate about a million chips with salsa and guacamole, so I wasn’t even hungry when my order of vegetarian fajitas arrived.

013

I hardly made a dent in this monstrous portion. I always get my money’s worth at El Sarape. My pile of grilled peppers, onions, and mushrooms was served to the table sizzling on cast iron.

014

And it was served with the standard fixin’s: tomatoes, onions, lettuce, refried beans, and rice.

016

I ordered corn tortillas with my fajitas, so I’m pretty sure my entree took up about 25% of the table. I definitely got my itch scratched for Mexican food–everything was super tasty (especially my margarita!), and Dave and I both loved that our bill was only $35 dollars for the two of us. Still the best Mexican food around!

One thought on “Criminal Weather

Leave a Comment

