“Davy Got a Raise” Quiche

There are some really fabulous foodie movies out there.

001

This time of year, Chocolat is a must-see for me. France + chocolate + Johnny Depp + spring? As long as you don’t try to watch this movie with no source of chocolate nearby, you’ll love it.

002

Then there’s Julie & Julia. A food blogger decides to make every dish out of Julia Child’s cookbook, and Child is played beautifully, perfectly, by Meryl Streep. A truly wonderful adventure of cooking and loving.

003

Stranger Than Fiction. The only movie I have truly loved Will Ferrell in (besides Elf), Ferrell’s character Harold Crick brings the pastry chef he’s wooing a box of “flours.” How cute is that?

004

Big Night is another great one, starring Tony Shaloub, who I’m practically best friends with because he grew up in Green Bay, Wisconsin. Stanley Tucci is in it, too, of course, because it’s about two Italian brothers, and who else would play Shaloub’s brother? After I saw this movie, I was determined to make a timballo and impress the pants off everyone I know. I haven’t made it yet.

005

But there’s one movie that I hardly ever hear anyone talk about: Waitress. If I ever wrote a movie, this would be it. Besides the fact that Nathan Fillion aka god of the nerd world is in it, it’s such an interestingly beautiful movie with a creative twist.

006In Waitress, Jenna whips up creations at the pie diner where she works with titles inspired by her life, including “Bad Baby Pie,” “I Hate My Husband Pie,” “Fallin’ in Love Chocolate Mousse Pie,” and “I Can’t Have No Affair Cause it’s Wrong and I Don’t Want Earl to Kill Me Pie.”

007

Unlike Jenna, I don’t hate my husband. In fact, I kinda like him. So I thought I should make him a special “pie” to celebrate the fact that he got a big ol’ raise at work. (The internet tells me quiche is not a pie, but a cake; I call shenanigans. That’s a pie crust filled with custard. Custard pie or “Internet is Wrong” Pie).

008

Dave loves quiche, but I have never once made it because of my weird aversion to egg whites and egg yolks mixed together. It is one of those foods I’m determined to like but just haven’t found my way to yet, like squash, beets, and goat cheese. But sacrifices must be made in the name of love and marriage.

Pie sacrifices.

012

Greek Quiche

  • 1 9-inch pie crust (I used a wheat olive oil crust)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onions
  • 4-6 oz chopped spinach
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 3-4 green olives, sliced
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta
  • 1/4 cup shredded parmesan
  • 2 tsp Greek seasoning
  • salt & pepper, to taste (I didn’t use much salt due to the saltier cheeses and olives)
  • 1 tbsp butter, softened

011

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place crust in a pie pan sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Using fingers, rub butter over pie crust evenly (this will prevent the crust from getting too soggy). Saute spinach, onion, and minced garlic over medium heat for 3-4 minutes. Remove from heat, and stir in green olives, seasonings, and feta.

In a separate container, mix eggs, milk, and a pinch of salt and pepper.

Spread out the veggies evenly in the pie crust, then pour egg mixture over the top. Gently shake pie pan to ensure even incorporation of ingredients. Sprinkle parmesan on top. Bake for forty to fifty minutes, until eggs are set and the top is browned.

009

I served my quiche with a side of broiled asparagus, which was amazing. And the quiche? I actually liked it. Weird. Dave said it tasted like no quiche he had ever eaten before, but he thought it was delicious.020

“I Guess I Might Like Quiche a Little” Pie.

What kind of pie would you make right now?

3 thoughts on ““Davy Got a Raise” Quiche

Leave a Comment

