25 Things You Don’t Know About Me

1.  I  once made $40 by jumping into Lake Michigan in April.

My Dad loves to bet my siblings and I money to do things, but we have become so accustomed to taking the bets that he has pretty much stopped asking.

2.  I was fourth runner-up in a regional spelling bee when I was 11.

I used to be a wicked good speller when I was younger and won quite a few trophies. Unfortunately, my talent came from reading a lot and I eventually started going up against kids who studied the dictionary, thus ending my “career.”

3. I’ve never been on an airplane.

My family used to go backpacking and canoeing for vacations which were mostly local, but the two times we went to Virginia Beach, we drove sixteen hours to get there. Now, I hate long car rides, so I bet that has something do with it.

4. My husband and I met in a Creative Fiction writing class in college.

This is only unusual because he was a history major, and hardly anyone besides English majors ever took writing classes. He was brave!

5. I hate talking on the phone.

In fact, I keep my cellphone on silent most of the time, which I’m sure drives people who are trying to reach me nuts. I prefer writing to speaking, so I’m much more of a texter. Or a ‘see you in person to talk’-er.

6. I whistle both in and out.

I didn’t know it was customary for people only to whistle one way until I was about fifteen.

7. My underwear and bra always match.

It drives me crazy if they don’t.

8. My nose and navel are pierced.

My navel ring is a four-leaf clover, and I haven’t changed it for about four years (though I do clean it!).

9. I can twist my tongue into a three-leaf clover.

It would be much luckier if it was a four-leaf clover.

10. I have only broken one bone in my body–my left elbow.

This is a miracle considering how clumsy I am, but I have plenty of nontraditional painful stories (like going to the hospital for getting a stick up my nose–I fell on it in the snow when I was about nine).

11. I have mixed up cumin and cinnamon several times while cooking, which has resulted in very weird tasting apple crisp and hummus.

Always smell your spices before using!

12. I fell into a fire when I was two years old, resulting in a tiny scar on my hand and a larger one on my back.

Neither is a map of the London Underground. Sigh.

13. My last meal would be homemade bread, cheese, and red wine. Maybe some smoked salmon, too. And sushi. A piece of really decadent chocolate cake. Roasted broccoli and brussels sprouts. Drunken risotto. And some gelato.

14. I have never really “dated.” I went from one serious relationship to another, the second of which resulted in marriage to someone I think is the bee’s knees.

I never felt like I was missing much.

15. I have hyperextended elbows.

Most people call this double-jointed, but what it really means is that I can twist my arm almost all the way around and freak people out. 😀

16. Neither Dave nor I owned cats before we got Athena and Artemis.

My family used to have a dog, birds, mice, and a rabbit, and Dave’s family used to have a dog. Both of our mothers claim not to be fond of cats, but I call shenanigans. Our kitties are cuddly, soft, and incredibly entertaining.

17. I can type over 100 words a minute.

In high school, my highest recorded wpm was 120, but the last time I was tested, three years ago, I was at a much more reasonable 100 wpm. I love the way my fingers feel flying over the keyboard. It’s a weird little high for me.

18. I have a huge extended family.

My Dad had nine siblings and my Mom had six so with their spouses, kids, and grandkids, our family gatherings are astronomical compared to most.

19. I hate horror movies and TV shows.

I have an incredibly overactive imagination so watching any type of horror movie gives me terrible nightmares. I have learned to stay away. Horror movies usually have terrible plots, anyway, so they rarely intruigue me.

20. I was named after the character Chelsea Thayer Wayne from On Golden Pond.

Chelsea is English for “the place where chalk and limestone meet.” Romantic, huh?

21. Octopi freak me out.

I appreciate that all creatures are beautiful in their own unique way, but they’re just…tentacly and weird, and I shudder whenever I think of them. Dave and I sometimes get Octupus salad with our sushi, but I have to close my eyes when I take a bite.

22. The first cd I bought was Staind: Break the Cycle.

It certainly has been awhile.

23. I hate the book The Scarlet Letter.

Classic, schmassic. Overly symbolic plot, unrealistic characters, just…ugh.

24. I used to have a dolphin collection.

Everyone thought I loved dolphins when I was younger, so they kept buying me dolphin things. (For the record, I think dolphins are pretty cool, I just didn’t really have an obsession with them). My brother bought me a dolphin necklace for Christmas one year when I was about twelve, which I thought was incredible for a thirteen year-old-boy, so the memory of that makes me like dolphins even more. But I don’t have a dolphin collection anymore. So you don’t have to buy me anything–really.

25. I believe in magic.

What’s one thing I don’t know about you?

2 thoughts on “25 Things You Don’t Know About Me

  1. The collection thing is funny. I feel like that happens to everyone. I was shopping with grandma Leahy and Rachel I think and we came across a stuffed cat. I was like ” but Grandma I LOVE cats! ” It was all over from there. I got cat everything 😔. It took me years to tell the truth .

Leave a Comment

