Gnocchi with Brussels Sprouts and Bacon

Remember how much I hated running? I miss it. I swear, I will run without complaint as soon as Mother Nature provides me with a nice springy outdoor play area. (Wait, what did I just agree to?) As soon as it gets warm enough, the first thing I’m going to do is hit my favorite trail.

I have been passing the cold, snowy-rainy months by reading heaps and watching more TV than I care to admit. And I’m tired of it. Until I find a new hobby to keep me busy, the only thing I seem to have enough energy for is trying new recipes. And reading my food magazines to find more.

006

How about some Gnocchi with Bacon and Brussels Sprouts?

  • 7 oz bacon, cut into 1/2″ pieces
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 lb Brussels sprouts, halved
  • 2 tbsp + 2 tsp butter
  • 1 (16oz) package gnocchi
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 3/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 2 tsp garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan or Asiago cheese, shredded

In a medium frying pan over medium-low heat, cook bacon until crisp but not fully cooked; drain and set aside.

Meanwhile, bring a large pot of water to a boil; add salt and baking soda. Add Brussels sprouts along with 2 tablespoons butter and cook for 3 to 4 minutes; drain and shock sprouts in ice cold water to stop the cooking process. Drain and set aside.

Prepare gnocchi according to directions on package. Once cooked and drained, immediately transfer gnocchi to a large frying pan over medium-high heat with remaining 2 teaspoons butter and olive oil. Sear for 2 to 3 minutes and add cooked Brussels sprouts, bacon, broth, wine, and garlic. Cook for 1 minute, then remove from heat. To serve, sprinkle with cheese.

Recipe adapted from: The Fresh Market

*****

I should have gone with my gut instinct and roasted the Brussels sprouts instead of boiling them. In my opinion, there is no flavor match for roasted vegetables–crispy, crunchy, slightly caramelized; I’m certain they would have added a nice contrasting texture to the already tender gnocchi. Alas, I usually like to follow a recipe completely once before making alterations, so I boiled them before sauteing.

Boiling the Brussels sprouts did make the recipe go pretty lickety split; it only took about thirty minutes start to finish for this dish. So if you like the texture of boiled Brussels sprouts and want a quick meal, go for it!

003

Anyways, I can’t say I was disappointed. This dish is bursting with a multitude of colors and flavors, and we all know bacon adds a little sumpin’ sumpin’ to pretty much every dish. The Parmesan cheese was the icing on the cake to the mild gnocchi, springy sprouts, and salty bacon.

I served mine on a bed of arugula for a little extra green.

005

What is the first thing you’ll do when spring arrives?

3 thoughts on “Gnocchi with Brussels Sprouts and Bacon

  1. Pingback: Eats Lately | Designs on Dinner

Leave a Comment

