Spring Hasn’t Sprung

Mother Nature doesn’t give a rat’s foot about the calendar. This week has been cold and windy with plenty of snow to help cement in the fact that “It ain’t spring til I say it’s spring.”

Well fine, Mother Nature. I can stay inside, cook, speed read, and watch my new favorite show: Bones until you’re ready to let us play outside.

I already have a love affair with Zooey Deschanel, so it didn’t take me long to hop on the Emily Deschanel bandwagon; she’s just as beautiful but plays a much less vulnerable character as Temperance Bones than Zooey ever has. Plus, look how cute David Boreanz is! He has a fabulous smile and the same endearing qualities he had playing Angel in the Buffy series.

Here’s what I’ve been eating lately.

001

 

European dinner with Gouda, Irish aged cheddar, cucumbers, pickles, balsamic tomatoes, smoked salmon, and pickled herring.

001

 

Corned beef with melted Swiss cheese, roasted potatoes and Brussels sprouts.

006

 

Salted oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.

009

 

Chicken fajita salad with guacamole.

011

 

Mushroom Bourguignon.

007

 

Wait. Did I mention the salted oatmeal chocolate chip cookies? Good. Recipe coming after I perfect them, but I made these with dark Ghiradelli chocolate chips and sprinkled them with sea salt, so they are a perfect combination of sweet and savory. Like a chocolate covered pretzel, only with oatmeal so they’re healthy. Right?

3 thoughts on “Spring Hasn’t Sprung

    • The mushroom bourguignong was fabulous. I’ll use a higher quality wine next time I make it because the one I used was a little too acidic, but it was still incredibly warm and delicious. A very homey meal.

  1. Pingback: Why We Spend a Lot of Money on Food | Designs on Dinner

Leave a Comment

