Oscar Party

I don’t care if it was just me, my sister Moriah, Grandma, and Aunt Dina…it’s a party if I say it is!

The Drink: Red Carpet Cocktail

006

  • 1 part V8 pomegranate blueberry juice
  • 2 parts champagne

Pour juice into a champagne or wine glass and top with champagne.

The Eats: Soft Wheat Pretzel Twists

001

I used the same Alton Brown homemade soft pretzel recipe I always do, except I substituted honey for the sugar and used half whole wheat flour and half white flour. There was no discernible honey flavor (probably have to add more than 1 tbsp), but I really liked the wheat version!

Red Pepper Dip

003

Another winner! I was planning on making a bean dip but decided to use ingredients on hand instead to create this tasty dip.

  • 2 red peppers
  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1/2 cup oven roasted almonds
  • 2 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp minced onion
  • 1 1/2 tbsp plain non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • salt & pepper to taste

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Rinse and chop red peppers. Transfer to a baking pan, drizzle with olive oil and salt, and roast with garlic cloves for about 25 minutes. Let cool.

Add nuts to a food processor and finely chop. Add peppers, vinegar, garlic, yogurt, and olive oil. Season to taste.

*****

We had plenty of food to nosh on as the Oscars began.

005

 

Cheese and sausage, veggies, hummus, crackers, and smoked salmon.

009

 

I had at least three plates like this.

008

 

And plenty of these. 🙂

I may not get to the movies very often, and I don’t particularly care for celebrity gossip, but I really enjoy watching the Oscars. It’s nice to see celebrities out of their natural element and dependent on their own personality to make themselves shine–and it’s a great way to see if the actors you love are actually cool in the real world!

It made me smile to see and hear some of my favorite actors tonight, including Liam Neeson, Hugh Jackman, Joaquin Phoenix, Anne Hathaway, Sandra Bullock, and Meryl Streep. My spirits couldn’t help but brighten as Daniel Radcliffe and Joseph Gordon-Levitt did a dance on stage with Seth MacFarlane.

318157_537044306340168_771705492_n

 

Ah. A tailored suit is to women what lingerie is to men.

10-01-10 (521)

 

Too bad they seem to make men so bloody uncomfortable. Oh, well.

I can’t believe I devoted five hours to the Oscars tonight, but I had a great time hanging out with my family. The group of us in town called my mom and other sister Emily periodically to see how they were doing with their picks. My efforts definitely paid off–I got 12 out of the 24 picks right! Woohoo! That may not sound like a lot, but I generally average about 4 or 5 right, and I managed to beat out the rest of my family with most correct guesses.

All in all, a really fun time!

2 thoughts on “Oscar Party

Leave a Comment

