Monday Funday

After working seven days in a row, which overlapped the weekend and my chance of seeing friends, I knew I had to get out of the house on Monday so as not to go crazy. Fortunately, I had the perfect excuse: costume shopping.

My niece Aurelia’s Alice in Wonderland themed birthday party is this upcoming weekend and all guests are encouraged to come in costume. I had an idea in mind, so I hit up the Dollar Tree, Goodwill, and Target to scrounge together some accessories. Unfortunately, I was done waaaay too soon and had no idea what to do with the rest of my day off until my Mom called and asked me to meet her, my sister Emily, and Aurelia for some party shopping.

We went to Jo-Ann Fabrics and another Goodwill before finishing and deciding to stop at Panera. It was a little late for lunch for me, so I decided to have a cup of Honey Ginseng tea and a Strawberries and Cream scone.

strawberry scone

Delicious! No one makes scones as well as my mom’s, but Panera’s are pretty good. I also picked up a Red Velvet Crinkle Cookie for Dave and I to share later.

001I’m not really a huge fan of red velvet, but this looked too good to pass up. After Mom dropped me back off at home (we carpooled), I made some dinner for Dave and myself.

I had been marinating some soy-maple salmon in the fridge all day, so it was ready to go when I got home. My marinade was about 2 tbsp soy sauce, 2 tbsp maple syrup, and 1 tbsp orange juice.

002

I roasted some broccoli with garlic on the side as well as some sweet potatoes with cumin and cayenne.

004

Habanero ketchup for dipping. Dave got me the Habanero ketchup from World Market, and I love it. It has just the right amount of kick.

I dug into my half of the Red Velvet Crinkle Cookie for dessert.007

Unfortunately, I wasn’t too impressed. It certainly looked pretty, but it just didn’t have as much flavor as I thought. I guess I’m just a chocolate girl.

My Monday ended by reading my newest issue of Food Network magazine–a cheese issue! I definitely know what my cake is going to be for my birthday this year: the gouda cake.

Leave a Comment

