Curried

It snowed again today. Blerg.

The weather the last few days has not been kind on my wallet; no one wants to leave their house if they don’t have to, thus the cafe has been incredibly slow. Since this has been my first experience waitressing, I feel even worse for those who have to earn their living doing it. It’s hard never knowing how much money you’ll come home with. I’m glad it’s just a part time job for me.

Luckily, since I had exercised this morning, I got to make a pit stop at Target before heading home which cheered me up slightly. Target is such a magical place; I don’t know why anyone ever goes to Wal-Mart. The few times I have been there in the last several years made me really uncomfortable.

I saw this on Pinterest the other day and it cracked me up—it’s so true!

After an hour or so at home, I set to work on using up my Butter Chicken Curry packet.

003I was worried that we’d had it so long, it would no longer be good, but it had an expiration date on it of July 3, 2013. In the clear! I’ve tried both curry paste and powder, and I’d have to say that taste-wise, paste is the way to go. It has a lot more flavor, even if it doesn’t last as long.

The curry package called for 1 lb of assorted chicken (thighs, legs, etc.), but I used 14 oz of Just Bare chicken breast, which I diced into 1 inch pieces.

004

Just Bare is becoming really popular at the grocery store. It is so much more well-stocked than before. I guess people are becoming more aware of the journey of food growth to plate, which I think is fantastic.

I was also a little bit worried that the ‘Butter Chicken Curry’ would call for a huge amount of butter, but I was pleasantly surprised when it only asked for 3 tbsp butter and 1 cup of water in addition to the chicken. It didn’t call for any vegetables, but I added half a bag of frozen peas towards the end of the cooking time. I need my green!

005

The chicken curry was quite easy to make. Basically, I just dumped everything in the pan, stirred it, brought it to a boil, then turned down the heat and let it simmer for 20 minutes. I turned the heat up and added the peas for the last five minutes, then let it cool.

006

I served the chicken curry over some brown rice cooked in vegetable broth, then topped it with a bit of Greek yogurt to cool the spiciness.

The only thing that would have made this meal better would have been some homemade naan. The Butter Chicken Curry was bursting with flavor, and the addition of yogurt added a nice creaminess.

007

I feel silly for having waited so long to have used this–it was really good!

4 thoughts on “Curried

Leave a Comment

