Mix & Match

Wonderful things happen when you mix and match sweet & savory, crunchy & tender, smooth & tangy. Wonderfully delicious things.

003

 

I took another page from Food Network Magazine tonight and made Soy-Maple Salmon. A quick scan of my blog tells me that I had actually come up with this concoction by myself last year but whereas I used it as a glaze, FN suggested it as a marinade.

Soy-Maple Salmon

  • 2 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp fresh orange juice
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 4 5-oz salmon fillets

Mix the soy sauce, maple syrup, orange juice, garlic cloves, and 2 tbsp of water in a large bowl; add the salmon and turn to coat. Cover and refrigerate 20 minutes.

001

 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Coat a rimmed baking sheet with cooking spray. Drain the fish, season with salt and pepper, and place on the prepared baking sheet. Bake until slightly golden around the edges, 8 to 10 minutes.

Adapted from: Food Network

*****

Um, why had I not thought to add garlic? Brilliant! Thanks, Food Network.

Since FN handled my entree, I took on the side dish. What crazy weird stuff could I add to my brussels sprouts during roasting? Olive oil, of course. Balsamic vinegar…yeah, that’s good. And dried cranberries–I have a bag of them to make granola, which we all know I shouldn’t really do. It would be gone in five seconds. What about some nuts…almonds, maybe. Wait, pecans!

002

 

Roasted at 400 degrees for 12 minutes with the olive oil, balsamic, and salt, then tossed in the pecans for another 10 minutes. Stirred in dried cranberries, added some pepper.

005

 

I think I have another veggie side dish for Thanksgiving. The only thing that could have brought this even more over the top would have been bleu cheese crumbles. Noted.

*****

Workout today: Bob Harper’s Body Rev Cardio Conditioning

Leave a Comment

