Cold as Ice

As my car and I chattered our way to the hospital yesterday morning at 4:30am, Foreigner’s “Cold as Ice” fittingly played on the radio, serenading us on the 0 degree drive.

The sun deceivingly promised a warmer trek home, but it was equally chilly and that, combined with a feeling of a cold coming on and a bad day behind me, left me less than eager to work out. I compromised on a short 22 minute workout courtesy of Chris Freytag’s 10 Pound Slimdown.

Now that Exercise TV no longer exists, I use Youtube to find the ones I used frequently. This short interval workout is set up similar to Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred and is perfect for when I don’t have a ton of energy. After it was over, I thought, “That was it?”

It’s hard to talk myself into a workout when I don’t feel like it, but I always feel better by the end.

Though it was a perfect day for soup, I had designs on a salad for dinner to battle my cold. I remembered a recipe I had used years ago that was very tasty and did my best to recreate it tonight.

003

Mandarin Sesame Chicken Salad

Dressing:

  • 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp orange juice
  • 1 tbsp stevia (or 2 tbsp sugar)
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp toasted sesame seeds
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Combine dressing with:

  • 8 cups lettuce (I used Spinach & Arugula)
  • 1 lb cooked and diced chicken
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onions
  • 1 cup pea pods
  • 1 can of mandarin oranges, drained

002

I love the taste of sesame oil and sesame seeds, so this dressing was absolutely perfect. I stir fried the pea pods and added the chicken hot for a warm salad, but it is just as delicious cold.

Leave a Comment

