Perfect Saturday Morning

It’s been awhile since I’ve had a perfect Saturday. This is most likely since I’ve been working nearly every Saturday for the last three months. No matter what’s on the agenda, I can never seem to enjoy a good Sunday as much as a good Saturday. This started as soon as I began elementary school and has carried over to the working world.

But today, everything was perfect. I slept in until 7:00am (which, considering I’ve been up at 3:30 am every day the last week, is pretty good). I woke up with some delicious whole bean coffe and my January issue of the Food Network Magazine.

005I made a meal plan for the week and a grocery list. Now that I’ve got extra time to cook during the week, I’m actually looking forward to homemade dinners that require a bit of work. Some ideas for the week: Sesame-Orange Chicken Salad, Black Bean Quesadillas, Tofu Cuban Sandwiches, Chili Stuffed Sweet Potatoes, Soy Maple Salmon, and Last Minute Lasagna.

After my three cups of coffee, I decided to check how much I really liked Bob Harper’s ‘Beginner’s Weight Loss Transformation’ video that I tried for the first time yesterday. Still love it.

I especially like the Freestyle Swim move, crouching and using weights to mimic the movement of swimming, which works all your arm muscles. I have to repeat: this really isn’t a beginner’s video. There is no way I would have been able to complete this video three years ago when I first started exercising. But that shouldn’t scare you off, because it’s a lot of fun and not boring at all.

After my workout and a bit of a cooldown, I showered and ate my breakfast: leftover Shrimp Combination.

003

This was the first time I ordered the Shrimp Combination from China Kitchen, and I would definitely order it again. Lots of veggies, shrimp, scallops, and imitation crab in a delicious sauce. I don’t know why, but Chinese takeout vegetables are always the best, so ginormous, crisp, and fresh tasting.

Now Dave and I are off to the grocery store…here’s hoping this day continues to be perfect!

Leave a Comment

