Fun Friday

A Friday was never ‘Friday’ growing up; it was always ‘Fun Friday!’ Sometimes just calling something ‘fun’ makes it seem more so, doesn’t it? Maybe that’s why I like tacos on Tuesdays and crave drinks on Thursdays. Manic Monday, anyone?

This was my first Friday getting done at 1:30pm instead of 7:30pm, and it felt fabulous! I felt so good, I headed straight home to try a new workout video: Bob Harper’s ‘Beginner’s Weight Loss Transformation.’

First of all, I’d have to say that this is not a beginner’s workout, more like an intermediate. Even though I didn’t like the background or the demonstrators, I loved the combination of moves, and I love Bob’s teaching method. This video had just the right amount of cardio and strength training to make me feel energized but not overwhelmed. But be forewarned: no water breaks here or rest for the wicked. This 45 minute video is going in my daily rotation.

A trip to the mailbox brought another fun surprise: my first issue of the Food Network Magazine!

005

I’m so excited to get some new recipe ideas and read tips from some of my favorite cooks. I think I’ll save it for Saturday or Sunday so I can relax with it and a big cup of tea or coffee.

Another fun surprise in the mailbox….

006An invitation to my niece Aurelia’s first birthday party! I can’t believe that she was born a year ago already.

007This whole process of creating humans is kind of cool. Especially when they’re as awesome as Aurelia.

117And I think her birthday party is going to be pretty awesome as well. I can tell from the invitation.

007

 

Though Alice in Wonderland is actually one of my least favorite Disney movies, I think its a great idea for a theme.008When it comes to themed parties, my family knows best. We may not be world thinkers or great leaders…don’t read a lot or run very fast, but damn it, we throw great parties! (That’s completely not true, but I couldn’t resist the quote–name that show!). Just because Aurelia doesn’t know it’s her birthday doesn’t mean we can’t have fun celebrating. She’ll see pictures, after all.

It wasn’t long after Dave got home that I asked “What are we doing for dinner?” Since I’ve been eating dinner around 4:30-5:00 all week, it was definitely a lesson in self endurance to wait for our Chinese takeout to get here after 7:00pm.

002

 

It was worth it. Vegetable Lo Mein, Shrimp Combo, Vegetable Egg Roll, and Steamed Dumplings.

Then I fell asleep on the couch at about 9:00pm. What a wild night.

Leave a Comment

