New Routine

It’s day two of my new routine. Alarm set to 3:45. Hit the snooze button once. Get up at 3:54. (Why is my snooze button nine minutes long? That seems like a strange number). Drink two cups of coffee, leave the house at 4:40, punch in at work at 4:55. Work til 11:00. Lunch break from 11:00-11:30. Work two more hours, and leave work at 1:30. Come home. Exercise. Shower. Watch TV. Eat dinner. Read. Go to bed.

(I’m just about finished with Close Relations, which follows Marcia, a political speechwriter whose family continues to ignore her interests, job and Irish boyfriend in order to turn her into a “happily married woman.”)

Dare I say…I may get used to this schedule. I thought it would be hard waking up at 3:45am, but it’s really no harder waking up to an alarm at 8:00. I think we can all agree waking up to an alarm anytime sucks. I don’t particularly like exercising after I get home from work, either, but I don’t want to wake up at 3:00am to exercise, so this is the next best thing.

Besides, in summer, it will be so nice to spend the afternoon walking or running outside. And, best yet, I won’t have to wait for a day off to go to the Broadway Farmer’s Market! I really can’t wait for warm weather again. Come on, summer….

I’ve spent the last two afternoons with Jillian Michaels doing 30 Day Shred.

It’s a shame I don’t have this video memorized before; I know it just well enough that it’s monotonous, but not well enough that I can do it while watching something else. After a shower, I started on dinner. Tonight’s was an adaptation of a recipe I found in a pepper cookbook. Dave and I tried it once before and it was very delicious, although we both agreed it could use less oil.

001

Savory Shrimp & Pepper Salad

  • 1/2 lb wheat pasta
  • 1 cup water
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1 lb uncooked shrimp
  • 1 lg sweet red pepper, chopped
  • 1 tbsp minced red onion
  • 2 tbsp minced fresh parsley
  • 4 tbsp crumbled Feta cheese
  • 1/3 cup olive oil (original recipe calls for 1/2 cup)
  • 1 tbsp Balsamic vinegar
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tbsp minced fresh savory
  • 1/4 tsp white pepper
  • salt

Cook the pasta and set aside. In a saucepan, bring water and 1 tbsp. of the lemon juice to a boil. Add the shrimp and simmer for 3-5 minutes. Drain, shell, and devein.

Combine the pasta, shrimp, pepper, onion, parsley, and feta cheese in a large salad bowl. Combine the oil, vinegar, garlic, savory, pepper, and salt in a bowl and whisk to blend. Pour over the salad and toss to coat. Eat warm or chill for an hour to let flavors merry.

002

 

I ate mine warm, because it’s still winter.

2 thoughts on “New Routine

Leave a Comment

