Game Day

My mom texted my brother last week “Game day on Sunday!” He responded, “No, Mom, the game is on Saturday.” To which she replied, “No, game day on Sunday.” Does anyone even play board games anymore?

This family does.

006I wanted to play my new Wits & Wagers game that I received from my sister Ali and sister-in-law Jaimee for Christmas, so I brought it out to my parents for a game day with the fam. We had a lot of fun playing it, even though it made us feel that we should also start taking a history class together to brush up on our numbers. (FYI, Ronald Reagan was the oldest president elected in the U.S., taking office at the age of 69 years, 349 days).

Moriah put together a cheese and cracker plate for us to nibble on while we played.

003

And after the first few rounds, Dave headed into the kitchen to make us some crab rangoons.

005He made his own filling with cream cheese, imitation crab, green onions, and Worcestershire, then stuffed them into Wonton wrappers and fried in his new Dutch oven.

007

 

We declared them his best crab rangoons yet.

We played about five or six rounds of Wits & Wagers before switching over to Apples to Apples; then Mom went into the kitchen to work on her spicy tuna wraps.

008

 

I brought along some homemade guacamole and blue corn chips for the meal.

009

 

These wraps were amazing! She stuffed them with blackened tuna, lettuce, tomato, and a spicy chipotle sauce. The tuna steaks are definitely not cheap, but they were so delicious; I love tuna.

I feel so much better having spent a day playing games as opposed to watching TV all day. It’s nice to give my brain a workout every once in awhile!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Game Day

  1. I love the “game day” text conversation – that’s awesome. 🙂 Funnily enough, we played Wits and Wagers for the first time this weekend, too! I agree that it was a lot of fun but also made me realize how little random trivia and historical tidbits I remember. Apples to Apples is also a favorite. And the crab rangoons look awesome!

Leave a Comment

