Delicious Failure

So…I tried to make catfish cakes last night.

001

Just like crab cakes, but with shredded catfish instead.

003

I got lazy.

004

I didn’t shred the catfish as finely as I should have, and I didn’t crush the saltines before I put them in. Now I know why people order pizza or eat canned soup instead of cooking every night.

007

They fell apart. And you know what else? They were delicious. So friggin’ delicious. I covered them with a sauce that I whipped up with Greek yogurt, milk, capers, dill weed, a bit of Old Bay seasoning, salt and pepper.

I will perfect this! In the meantime, at least I can revel in the fact that they were delicious. When I do, the recipe will be yours.

I was going to make stuffed mushrooms to go with our Friday night catfish cakes. But I forgot to buy mushrooms.

005

So I put the stuffed mushroom ingredients on top of whole wheat pitas instead. Spinach, roasted red peppers. Trappist Monk mild cheese (have you ever had it? Amazing!), and pesto. Nearly as tasty.

008

Baked at 400 for 15 minutes, then unceremoniously cut on a plate, because I felt too lazy to wash a cutting board. What is happening to me? I’m a monster!

For dessert: cookies courtesy of Dave’s employer that were surprisingly good and surprisingly easy to turn into a Muppet-like face.

006

Perfect, because we watched A Muppet Christmas Carol, and I fell in love with Michael Caine all over again.

Leave a Comment

