Tuesday Things

1. I saw this posted on the car in front of me while I was pulling out of Target today. It made me smile.

2. In honor of the upcoming movie, Denny’s has released a menu inspired by The Hobbit.

I didn’t think this phrase would ever come out of my mouth when talking about Denny’s, but I’m impressed. However, since the Hobbit Hole Breakfast clocks in at 1,160 calories, I’d reconsider a second breakfast.

4. I did it. I succumbed to advertising and paid a ridiculous amount of money for trademark band-aids. As soon as I saw them at Target I thought Muppet Christmas Carol! Michael Caine! All the things! Then I had to wait a month until I got a bad paper-cut to use one. It was torture. Waiting, that is.001

5. These Iphone autocorrects sometimes cause me to stop breathing. I was reading them at work yesterday and had to choke down my laughter to mask it.

6. I waited on two adorable and incredibly pleasant older ladies today. One was probably mid-seventies with perfectly coiffed red hair and a flowered scarf tied just so, the other mid-eighties, white haired, and slightly hard of hearing. We somehow got talking about martinis and I mentioned that I love dirty Tanqueray martinis. The seventy year old said “What? With gin?”

The eighty year old said, “Is there any other kind of martini than a gin martini?”

It made my day.

7. I cooked today! Well, kind of.

008

Peanut Butter Pretzel Truffles

  •  1 cup White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter
  • 2/3 cup pretzels, finely chopped
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips, melted (I use Ghiradelli)

Combine peanut butter and 1/2 cup pretzels. Chill in freezer until firm, about 15 minutes. Roll the peanut butter mixture into 25 balls, about 1 1/2 tsp each. Place on a baking sheet lined with wax paper and freeze for about one hour, or until very firm. Roll in melted chocolate and top with remaining pretzel pieces.

007

Recipe slightly adapted from: Eating Well.

8. After I “cooked,” I ate this for dinner.

004

Egg Foo Yung, Shrimp & Vegetables in Lobster Sauce, and rice.

9. This picture of pretzels makes me dizzy if I look at it too long.

002

10. I bought Q-Tips today, and Dave and I laughed again at the ‘variety of uses’ the box suggests.

010

Did I miss something? Is talking about cleaning out one’s ears with Q-Tips a forbidden subject? I’m pretty sure that’s what 98% of people use them for.

When’s the last time you swabbed a baby’s toe with a Q-tip?

11. Can’t. Stop. Laughing.

Leave a Comment

