Food? What’s Food?

Oh yeah, it’s that thing you put in your mouth in between drinks and laughing…

046

 

Dave and I drove to Stevens Point yesterday to celebrate the birthdays of two of our favorite people in the world: the newlyweds Dan & Emily. They both turn 28 within four days of each other, and they invited us to a wonderful double birthday bash with a plethora of good food, good drinks, and good people. Well really, the best people.

059

I had to take off work to attend, and I’m so glad I did. Even though I will see them again in several weeks for Friendsmas (our friend’s holiday party which, last year, was called Friendsgiving), I wouldn’t have wanted to wait that long to be in their company. Also, I hate knowing people are having fun when I’m not. Isn’t that the worst?

007

Dan and Emily prepared a fabulous white bean dip with honey and toasted almonds (Em, I want that recipe!), several decadent puff pastry and jam concoctions, hummus, pita chips, and plenty of fresh, local vegetables, including some funky purple cosmic carrots.

075

I brought pita chips (though mine were store-bought), veggies, and a new hummus I whipped up based on my mom’s smoked tea dip.

064

Smokey Tea Hummus

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained
  • 1 can of black beans, partially drained
  • 1 tbsp Lapsang Souchong, crushed
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • garlic powder, onion powder, and red pepper flakes to taste

Combine all ingredients in a food processor. Serve with pita chips and crudites.

*****

We arrived at quarter to five and spent nearly nine hours doing what we do best: eating, drinking, and being merry. It was a fabulous combination of personalities, and I had so much fun spending time with old friends and getting to know new friends.

073

There is something so magical about the holiday season, and it is a wonderful feeling being warm indoors with a lovely group of people when the weather is brisk.

039

After we called it quits for the night (morning, really), Dave and I stayed over at a Holiday Inn with serveral other friends so as not to crowd Dan and Em’s apartment, and we woke up to make one more quick good-bye stop at their place. And to pick up my forgotten camera! It started to snow on our drive back to Green Bay, but Dave got us safely back home just in time for me to go to work.

001

I work until 11:00pm tonight at the hospital, and I’m working tomorrow morning at 7:00am at the cafe. Can we please add another day in between Sunday and Monday? Thanks!

Leave a Comment

