Cheese & Jelly

Dressing up animals is fairy wicked on the part of pet owners. But sometimes it’s so hard to resist.

I bought cat antlers from Target knowing neither Artemis nor Athena would wear them with pleasure, but I was hoping I could snag at least one cute photo.  I thought a heartwarming holiday photo like this one would be great for a holiday card.

https://i0.wp.com/favim.com/orig/201105/27/adorable-antlers-cat-cats-costume-cute-Favim.com-57211.jpg

This was the best I could do.

001

I think people might throw our holiday cards away.

Last night, Dave and I went out for dinner with one of my co-workers and her fiancee to Koko’s, one of Green Bay’s fabulous sushi restaurants. It was only the second time I had been there, but it definitely did not disappoint.

sushi

I forgot my camera, but Shelby got a quick photo in before we devoured the nine rolls we ordered. I guess waiting to eat dinner until nearly nine pm whet our appetites considerably. The atmosphere was warm, the company was lovely, and the sushi was divine. Seriously. I think sushi deserves that adjective.

Unfortunately, I stayed up a little too late and drank a little too much considering I had to go into work this morning. I had a rough start to the day but started to feel better as morning turned to noon. After work at the cafe, I headed over to Mom’s to make feta cheese and tea jelly for gifts this year. I love both making and receiving food gifts, so I usually make something edible every Christmas.

Since our first experience making feta went so well, we figured it was a sure bet this year. Who doesn’t love cheese? And who ever gets homemade cheese for Christmas?

006

It was a little chaotic in the kitchen making cheese and two kinds of jelly while trying not to be distracted by our little moonbeam.

002

We made two types of jelly: Earl Grey Cream (a hit last year) and Coconut Oolong, which I am really anxious to try.

008 I absolutely love the Coconut Oolong tea, and I think it will make a lovely spread. My favorite way to eat jelly is with cream cheese on crackers or a piece of crusty French bread. A cup of tea on the side would certainly complement this meal. So it better be as good as I have it worked out in my mind.

013

While Mom, Moriah, and I tended to the foodstuffs, Dina danced with Baby A.

011

And we put Grandma to work chopping veggies for dinner.

010

We whipped up two pizzas using Jiffy crust and a variety of toppings.

016

The first pizza was diced tomatoes seasoned with basil, oregano, minced onion, minced garlic, mushrooms, black and green olives, spinach, peppers, and Italian cheese.

018

The second pizza was smashed avocado, black olives, peppers, spinach, veggie bacon, and Mexican cheese.

019

We ate our pizza while watching my Mom’s newest obsession: the Gilmore Girls boxed set that Dave and I gave her for her birthday. She’s only had it for a month, and she’s already on Season 4. That’s my girl! 🙂

Leave a Comment

