Vegging Out

Thanksgiving is traditionally a carb-laden holiday. To those of you on the Atkins diet, I feel your pain. Stuffing, mashed potatoes, dinner rolls, sweet potatoes and pie crust, pie crust, pie crust. If you’re a vegetarian on the Atkins diet? Good luck.

I never used to miss vegetables at the Thanksgiving dinner table. Green Bean Casserole was never a part of our menu, so veggies were never invited to the party. (You could stretch it by saying the potatoes are a vegetable but they are so starchy, they are more like the love child of a loaf of bread and a vegetable. Mmm.) Fruit snuck its way in in the form of Mom’s homemade cranberry chutney, but I think last year was the first time I actually made a veggie dish: The Best Ever Roasted Broccoli.

Now I’m sold on delicious green things at the table, so I’m making brussels sprouts this year. But since I will also be consuming lots of carb-laden food, I’m vegging out this week.

 

Yeah, that’s breakfast. Sauteed brussels sprouts, carrots, zucchini, mushrooms, onions, and tomatoes. Seasoned with olive oil, lemon juice, minced garlic, marjoram, basil, salt, and pepper.

“That looks more like dinner to me.” No, it’s not. I topped it with an egg. A poached egg.

Leave a Comment

