Pumpkin Prep

Even though I don’t like pumpkin, I always try to make the pies for my family with a freshly baked and pureed pumpkin as opposed to canned. Much more foodie-friendly. A co-worker and I got to talking pies today (she is making 100 this year!!! Some for family and some for a nursing home), and she asked if I wanted a Cinderella pumpkin to bake this year which was in the back of her car.

Yes, please! I hadn’t bought a pumpkin yet, and, though I usually bake small pie pumpkins, I wasn’t sure what would be left at the grocery store. Also, I’d never baked with a Cinderella, so I wondered what the flavor difference would be. I always thought that smaller pumpkins had better flavor, but she said “Once you use Cinderella, you never go back.” I couldn’t believe how huge it was!

It must have been a foot and half across, although it was much flatter than a pumpkin of equal weight. I did a tiny bit of research on the Cinderella pumpkin when I got home: it was named so because it resembled the pumpkin carriage in the Disney movie Cinderella (naturally) but, more interestingly, it is recorded as being served at the second Thanksgiving dinner ever.

Personally, I think it would be cool to have a ‘traditional’ Thanksgiving feast: duck, venison, mussels, spinach, onions, cornmeal seasoned with molasses, and a hollowed out pumpkin baked with milk, honey, and spices. If you want a twist on our traditional Thanksgiving meal now, that’s certainly an interesting way to go.

To cook the Cinderella pumpkin, I cut it up into large chunks using our electric knife and baked it in a roasting pan at 375 for about an hour and fifteen minutes.

I’ll keep it in the fridge overnight, and on Pie Day (tomorrow), I’ll puree it in our food processor.

After the rigamarole of cleaning and prepping the pumpkin, I wasn’t feeling up to a 30 minute dinner, so I made it as quick as I could. I sauteed broccoli in olive oil and balsamic vinegar, then seasoned with salt, garlic powder, onion powder, and pepper and topped with a bit of shredded smoked goat cheddar cheese. On the side, I had toast topped with sliced¬†avocados, mashed sardines in mustard dill sauce, and red onions.

I’m so looking forward to pie day tomorrow!

Leave a Comment

