Lofty Goals

I spent the day mulling over my Thanksgiving dessert recipes, wondering if I would be able to accomplish my ambitious plans. I’m a little nervous. A little scared. And very excited. I love trying new recipes. I sulk when they don’t turn out, but I’m happy as a clam when they do.

1. Creamy Caramel Apple Crunch Pie–I’m going to make this following my Grandma’s Creamy Apple Pie recipe, but I’ll substitute caramel Greek yogurt for the sour cream and switch out the top pie crust with an oatmeal walnut topping. I love oatmeal toppings on pies.

2Chocolate Chipotle Sweet Potato Pie–I made up this recipe myself last year (doesn’t happen very often) and I loved it. Maybe more than everyone else, but who cares. It combines chocolate, chipotle peppers, adobo sauce, sweet potatoes, and coconut. A weirdly awesome mixture.

3. Pumpkin Cheesecake–I’m not really a fan of pumpkin, but my sister requested it, and I have to admit that it sounds pretty dang good. I was going to make a gingersnap crust, but I have some leftover chai cookies that I think will make a lovely substitute.

4. Gingerbread Cake Roll with Maple Frosting–I’ve never made a cake roll before. I’m scared. Dave and I actually just came up with this idea tonight in lieu of the Pumpkin Cake roll I was initially planning on. If I can manage without any cracks, I’ll be flying high.

All these thoughts about desserts had me craving…veggies.

 

Broccoli and a few brussels sprouts with three diced garlic cloves, olive oil, salt, pepper, lemon juice and basil. Roasted at 425 for 25 minutes. I could eat this combo forever. Add fresh basil and freshly shaved Parmesan  and I’m yours.

 

On the side I had a veggie burger with muenster cheese, red onions, pickles, ketchup, and mustard on a whole wheat English muffin. I usually buy Gardenburger or Morningstar brand but Boca was on sale at Woodman’s when we were there last. The vegan burgers are oddly…colorless, but tasted okay. Especially with all the toppings. 🙂

 

What a wonderful detox-before-Thanksgiving meal. I’ll be at it all week.

Leave a Comment

