Try Chai Again

It has been kind of a strange weekend. On Friday morning, I did 30 Day Shred and had a quick bowl of fruit and yogurt before heading out to my parent’s house. Every year, my mom, my sister Emily, and I are vendors at a holiday gift show in Manitowoc where we help people discover that tea is delicious and so much more than the dust most people drink out of tea bags.

Once you go loose, you never go back. Or, as my brother Tyler said “If at first you don’t like tea, try chai again!”

We packed up the car and spent several hours setting up our Sage Hollow booth with jars of loose leaf tea, accessories, and gifts. We used colorful fabrics and Christmas lights to jazz up our booth.

 

Since loose leaf tea is also great for cooking, I thought it would be helpful to serve some noshes made with a couple of our teas. My mom made a fantastic Smokey Tea Spread with Lapsang Souchong (smoked black tea), and I made the Chai Spice Blossoms with our chai concentrate.

 

The food turned out to be a great idea–people loved the Smokey Tea Spread, and the three batches of cookies I made didn’t even last the two day show! Before the doors opened at 3:00pm on Friday, Emily and I went to Jimmy John’s, and we all had a veggie club sandwich.

 

We had a wonderful first day and went back to my parent’s house with a bottle of Cranbernet wine from another vendor to celebrate our success.

Em made us veggie burgers with sauteed mushrooms and onions for dinner while Mom and I restocked tea for the next day. Then we all sat down and ate our burgers, shared a bowl of popcorn, and watched our first holiday movie of the year: The Family Stone.

I did not like this movie the first time I watched it, but it has really grown on me. Now it’s one of my favorite holiday movies.

I slept on the pull-out couch in front of the fireplace, and we were up bright and early the next day for Saturday’s show–another success! I was exhausted by the time I got home Saturday night, and I had a quiet night in with Dave and my sister Moriah. Dave made pizza dough and put out sauteed brussels sprouts, red onions, anchovies, pesto, tomato paste, cheese, and spices for us to build our own pizzas. After a few hours of talking, I fell asleep on the couch and woke up this morning for something I haven’t enjoyed in awhile–going out for breakfast!

We went to the Nicolet Restaurant and it was packed, as usual. Luckily my family snagged a booth before I got there.

My Aunt Dina and my grandma joined me.

As well as my Mom, Moriah, Emily, and Aurelia.

Don’t be sad, Baby A! You’ll get your cheerios, all in good time.

Since I made such a poor omelet this week, I left it to the masters this time; I ordered a veggie omelet made with egg beaters and homemade whole wheat toast. Nicolet always has the best toast–it is thick, chewy, and buttery. Mmm.

Since I haven’t had them in such a long time, I also ordered a side of hash browns with onions.

After we packed up our leftovers, Emily headed to work and the rest of us headed to my Grandma’s. They watched the Packer game, and I watched Aurelia.

I also read a few magazines while I was there and found another recipe to try for Thanksgiving this week–Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme gravy. Besides the lovely Simon & Garfunkel reference, I’ve always wanted to try a vegetarian gravy, so I think it will be a good addition to our regular turkey gravy. Plus, the more gravy the better–we didn’t have any left over last year. 😦

Counting down the days!

Leave a Comment

