I’m in the Kitchen

It’s amazing how time flies when you’re in a restaurant! I had forgotten the feeling of time passing quickly at work, and it was a very welcome reminder today when I started my new job at the cafe.

Another lovely thing about working in a restaurant: bringing home leftovers. 🙂

I hate letting good food go to waste. As Grandma always used to say, “There are starving children in Malaysia!” Because we were ‘sassy’ children (another story altogether), we usually replied with, “Why Malaysia? There are starving children in America!”

I was sent home with a container of Spanish rice today, so I put it to good use for dinner.

 

I livened it up with a bit of milk, minced garlic, onion powder, garlic powder, oregano, cumin  and sauteed tomatoes, red peppers, and onions.

 

On the side, I cooked some chicken in lemon juice and non-stick cooking spray.

 

I used the same pan to quickly heat some spinach, just long enough to let it wilt a bit.

 

Then I layered it and topped it with some salsa and light sour cream. Sure, I could’ve just eaten the rice. But this was way more fun.

 

Leave a Comment

