Thanksgiving Veggie Trial Run

Dave and I went grocery shopping on Saturday and spent more money than we wanted re-stocking our pantry and refrigerator. So, now we’re broke…but at least we have food!

We bought lots of fish, cheese, potatoes, onions, and fresh fruit…..and went to town on the veggies, both frozen and fresh. I forget that there’s only two people living in the house sometimes.

Since Dave and I both had off today and enjoyed the luxury of eating together, I decided to be proactive and use up some of the fresh veggies stat.

I did a trial run of the veggie dish I’m making for Thanksgiving: Roasted Garlic Brussels Sprouts, a recipe from the last issue of Food Network magazine.

Roasted Garlic Brussels Sprouts

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 chopped garlic cloves
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 1 1/4 lbs halved Brussels sprouts
  • fresh cilantro

Preheat oven to 450. Heat olive oil in a small skillet over medium heat. Add garlic cloves, cumin, and salt, and cook for two minutes. Stir in brown sugar, lemon juice, and red pepper flakes. Toss with Brussels sprouts in a baking pan. Roast until tender, about 18-24 minutes. Toss with torn cilantro.

 

The Brussels sprouts were quite tasty, although not as crispy as I would have liked. I realized my mistake as I typed the recipe out here: I thought the recipe said 350 degrees, not 450. Doh!

Other than making sure the oven is the right temperature (!!!), I also think I’ll add more chopped garlic when I make it Thanksgiving day. The original recipe called for two cloves, I used three, and I still would have liked more. Roasted garlic is the best! Also, I don’t think you should be allowed to call any recipe ‘roasted garlic (something)’ unless it has at least two cloves per serving.

For the main course, I used the bison meat from the Farmer’s market to make some good old-fashioned burgers. My sister mentioned burgers the other day, and Dave and I had been craving them since.

 

I mixed a lb of the bison meat with 1/2 a small chopped onion, 1 egg, 1/4 cup of plain breadcrumbs, and garlic salt, Worcestershire sauce, and pepper. I pan-fried them in non-stick cooking spray over medium heat until the internal temperature was 165.

 

This burger with all the fixins’ was just what I wanted. Muenster cheese, tomatoes, spinach, pickles, ketchup and mustard dressed it up quite nicely.

I served it on these funky new pita fold-outs I found at Woodman’s–love them! They have so much more flavor than the 100 calorie thin burger buns, so I think they’ll become a staple for my veggie burgers.

 

Perfect way to end a Monday.

 

Leave a Comment

