Spicy Shrimp Salsa

It’s a good thing my husband can sleep through anything. I am not quiet in the kitchen.

For the average person, it’s hard to chop things softly, shake martinis gently, and not clang bowls when pulling them out of the cupboard. For me, it’s downright impossible.

The quieter I try to be, the more likely I am to break a glass, knock something over in the refrigerator, or touch my eyes after cutting a jalapeno and whisper-scream.

The latter happened today. I did wash my hands after dealing with the jalapeno, but those juices run deep. When my eyes started to burn after chopping an onion, I ran to the bathroom to splash water water on my face, and instead of cooling relief, I got two eyes-ful of spicy acid.

Cooking is a dangerous sport. Luckily, it is well worth the endeavor.

When my friend Lindsay invited a group of friends over to her place tonight, I jumped on the chance to make an appetizer. She told me she was planning on a Mexican-themed food night, so a variation on salsa was a must. As basal as the combo may be, chips and salsa remain one of my favorite snacks.

I wanted to make a salsa with extra protein in case there were no meat-free noshes available (cause I don’t like to be picky–much easier to bring something myself just in case!), so I combined the notion of salsa and shrimp cocktail to come up with:

Spicy Shrimp Salsa

  • 1 lb peeled and deveined cooked shrimp, chopped
  • 6 oz. chili sauce
  • 4 oz. Spicy Hot V8
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 sweet red bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/3 cup fresh cilantro, minced
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 jalapeno peppers
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 medium ripe avocado, cubed
  • chips to serve

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Halve the two jalapenos and remove all seeds. Spray a cooking pan with non-stick cooking spray and roast jalapenos for 25-30 minutes. Cool. Do not touch your eyes.

Meanwhile, combine all remaining ingredients except for the avocado. When jalapenos are cool, chop finely and add to mixture. Chill until serving. Just before serving, stir in avocado.

Serve with chips.

Leave a Comment

