In the Basket

I’ve spent the last couple days waddling because of the insane leg workout Bob Harper put me through in Pure Burn Super Strength. Before I turned into a penguin, I decided I better balance things out, so I tried a new video of his: Totally Ripped Core.

Sadly, I wasn’t a fan. I wanted to like this video so much, but the atmosphere was all wrong; it was glaring white and reminded me of the medical laboratory in Resident Evil. Besides that, the trainers have no personality in the video, and the moves were all a bit boring.

Plus, the male trainer’s name was Angel. I’m sorry, but unless you’re helping Buffy slay vampires and can add a reasonable amount of badass to such a fluffy name, there is no call to be named Angel. End rant.

I will say that this is a very intense workout, and you’ll definitely feel your core burning after you finish it. There’s a 12 minutes bonus core video included, so I think I’ll try that out and see if I can add it to one of the shorter cardio workouts or something. Sorry, Bob! I still love Pure Burn Super Strength!

After 50 minutes spent twisting my torso, breakfast was inspired by my viewing of V for Vendetta last night…..Eggies in the Basket!

The cookie cutters were too difficult to get to, so I used the top of a small mouth Mason jar to cut out my circle.

I sprayed the pan with non-stick cooking spray, added about 1/2 a tsp a butter and let it melt before adding the bread and breaking the egg.

Flipped.

And served. I remember my Dad making these for us for Sunday breakfast sometimes when we were younger. In fact, I think that was the last time I had ‘Egg Bread,’ as he called it.

As for dinner, pay day can’t come soon enough! The only vegetables left in our apartment were one bell pepper and a head of cabbage Dave bought ages ago. I used the pepper tonight to make myself a Mexican-inspired rice bowl.

I chopped up a whole green bell pepper and sauteed it in a bit of olive oil, then added about a 1/4 cup of Morning Star veggie crumbles. Towards the end, I mixed in 1/2 cup of cooked brown rice and seasoned it all with chili powder, onion flakes, oregano, red pepper flakes, tomatillo sauce, salt, and pepper. I topped it with some sharp cheddar, salsa, and Greek yogurt for a relatively well-balanced and quite tasty meal.

Leave a Comment

