T-Day Countdown

Seventeen days until one of my favorite holidays. I have had the privilege of being the Thanksgiving day pie-maker in my family since my grandma began to lose interest in baking several years ago. Although it’s a little sad that she’s lost her passion for baking, I am glad to take over in her footsteps….new generation to the rescue!

For the last week, I have been mulling around the different dessert recipes I want to try this year. (My veggie dish has been picked out since the last Food Network magazine came out–Roasted Brussels Sprouts). I like to do a twist on the traditional desserts, so this is what I’ve come up with so far: Creamy Caramel Apple Crunch Pie, Chocolate Chipotle Sweet Potato Pie, Pumpkin Cheesecake, and a Pumpkin Cake Roll.

I don’t mind making too much food for Thanksgiving, because then my family all has leftovers to bring home and enjoy. And isn’t that the best thing about Thanksgiving? Oh yeah, besides being thankful and all that jazz.

I am very much looking forward to my very own Thanksgiving tradition…Pie Day, the day before Thanksgiving when I make all my pies. That’s the day I usually start playing holiday music or put on a holiday movie in the background while I chop, mix, and bake. Can’t wait! I find baking to be both relaxing and fast-paced, which is why I love it so much. And I don’t have the opportunity to make dessert very often…Dave and I certainly don’t need a whole pie or cake to ourselves.

But, alas, it will be here before I know it, so there’s no need to count down.

Tonight I came home and immediately turned on the oven to roast the last of our frozen veggies, a Prince Edward medley.

I also added a chopped onion to the mix, then seasoned it with olive oil, lemon juice, dill, salt, and pepper. I am always seasoning with garlic salt and cumin, so this was a nice venture from the norm. I roasted the veggies at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, then threw a frozen Morning Star turkey burger in the oven for the remaining 15 minutes.

 

Topped with extra sharp cheddar.

 

I used the last spinach herb tortilla (I really do need to go grocery shopping with my next paycheck!) to wrap up my burger and added romaine, ketchup, and mustard. My dad’s homemade pickles on the side. A refrigerator without pickles is no refrigerator at all.

 

Leave a Comment

